Droid 2 no longer functions properly (apps, phone, network, etc.. )

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by douglar02, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. douglar02

    douglar02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, my phone is no longer functioning properly. I recently rooted it and began removing the default apps I never used.. and I think I may have gone a little to far. It was running perfect, smooth and fast after I rooted and removed the apps. Then all of a sudden it kind of froze, so i removed the battery and turned it back on. After the reboot, the background and signal service no longer come up. My home screen apps come up, but you can't click any of them. Then when you go to the apps list and try to use an app, nothing happens. Then after about 15 mins, the phone reboots and the same process happens. I'm not sure what to do at this point.. to help troubleshoot, I've listed the steps I used to root/remove apps below.


    Phone: Moto Droid 2 with the latest update

    1. Downloaded and installed the ROM Manager premium app
    2. Used the one-click root .bat file for Windows
    3. After the phone was rooted, I downloaded and added the cm7 zip file to my phone
    4. Using ROM Manager, I located and installed CM7
    5. I then downloaded and installed the Titanium backup app
    6. Through this app, I began removing the default apps i was never able to remove before
    7. The phone froze, I then pulled out the battery, put it back in, and tried to turn on the phone
    8. The phone comes on, but as I mentioned in the first paragraph, it does not function properly

    To try and resolve, I've tried the following:
    1. Holding power and the X button. It brings me to a Droid anime guy, and i hold the volume down button and camera button and nothing happens
    2. I tried to hold the power button down and down volume key at the same time, nothing happens

    Once the phone is on, the further ive gotten is to have a usb cord hooked up to it, put it in pc mode, and had my pc recognize the phone.. other than that, nothing.

    Please help!!!
    Thank you for reading,
    Kyle
     
  2. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    I hope you didn't use bootstrap..cm7 doesn't play well..with bootstrap. Also do not mess with restoring data on system apps via tb and backup pro...I would, if I were you.. wipe data, wipe dalvick, wipe cache and reinstall the rom... hold power and hit reboot then recovery...then begin the process.. make sure you keep a backup..hope this helps..lemme know how your doing:)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  3. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Ooops your not on cm7 lol..my bad, anyways..try a factory data reset, then lemme know...your apps should be backed up to market..

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  4. douglar02

    douglar02 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well the power button does not function either, so that's not even possible unfortunately. However I am using cm7 and I have no idea what bootstrp is so I don't think I had that installed.

    How do I factory default?
     
  5. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Sounds like you need to sbf..if your hardware is malfunctioning.. I would sbf back to stock and send it for replacement..search droidforums for sbf droid2 and its pretty easy but to get to bootloader that poerbutton needs to work...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  6. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Easiest way is..hold x on hard keyboard and power for a bit till screen comes on..when you see the triangle hit the lil search key(next to @ button) then hit wipe data factory reset.. lemme know how it works...sorry I was out a bit...I'm here now

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  7. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Be careful with what apps you remove. Sometimes removing the wrong app can cause issues. It's not necessary to do with cm7 anyway. It's already super fast. No need to mess with a good thing!

    CM74D2 (build-43)
     
  8. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    If you can't hold power to get into recovery (for whatever reason), use the rom manager app. Open it and hit reboot recovery. Then wipe and reinstall cm7 with gapps again.

    Worst case scenario.... sbf time.

    CM74D2 (build-43)
     
  9. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hoping we catch him before trying to return it.. sounds like it could be a quick fix...

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  10. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    He was saying his power button wasn't even working..

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  11. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah. That's why I suggested using rom manager to get into recovery.

    CM74D2 (build-43)
     
  12. droid2drummer

    droid2drummer Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,596
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Ga...
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hey bro, you know I really feal bad for the guy, I hope he hasn't given up? Between us two and the forum I know we could've saved him..(or her)

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums