Droid 2 hacking/rom install class

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. Ronbo85
    Offline

    Ronbo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale FL USA
    Hi thank you for all the replies

    I had to take a break from this for a couple days. I think I've tried every body suggestion about 1,000,000 times lol. J would be more than happy if I found out I was doing something wrong.

    I've tried this on 4 computers. Two were vista 1 was windows 7 And 1 was linux. I only had the start button issue on 1 of the vista machines. I have not yet tried it on windows xp. I will regroup when I get home tonight and start trying again. Thank you all again for your help

    sent via Droid X
  2. Ronbo85
    Offline

    Ronbo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale FL USA
    Well so far no luck. The start button part isnt really an issue for me on except for one PC I have tried.

    Just for trouble shooting I tried the 2.2 full sbf to see what happens. I get the expected result for a phone that already had 2.3.20...

    Bootloader
    D2.35
    Err:A5,70,00,1F

    MEM_MAP Blank
    Service Req'd
    Battery OK
    OK to program
    Tranfer Mode: USB

    So at least something is happening. Im open to any more ideas.
  3. Ronbo85
    Offline

    Ronbo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale FL USA
    Well I thought I just update everyone. I have now tried this on a windows xp machine to no avail. So now that makes it 4 different PC's 2 of them windows vista 1 window 7, 1 windows xp trying numerous copies of the 2.3.2 full sbf. I also tried rsd lite 4.7,4.8 & 4.9 as well as the 4.7 and 4.8 drivers. All give me the same result with a failed bp pass through message in my above post. After I reboot the phone and up with a code corrupt boot loader which I can fix by reflashing the bootloader sbf. I get the same end result with the linux. The only thing I notice is if I flash with the 2.3.2 system only sbf it seems to work successfully with any of the above combinations but all I end up is back in the bootloader again.

    Everyone says if you see the motorola logo and can access the recovery menu that you do not have a brick and I get both of those. If there is some kind of update zip file I could use maybe with a stock recovery that a system will accept?

    Sent from my DROIDX


    sent via Droid X
  4. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Try the TBH update.zip from the triple threat thread?
  5. Ronbo85
    Offline

    Ronbo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale FL USA
    Hi, I already tried it but will again when I get home to be sure. As I recall I get a signature verification error. My recovery is the stock one. Thank you

    sent via Droid X
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The TBH file will only work through bootstap. If you can get into bootstrap you can flash it. The locked recovery keeps you from flashing the update.zip like you can on the droid 1. You said you have a code corrupt bootloaders.

    Use the system sbf and flash it, when it reboots pull your battery. Reinstall, power on while holding x. wipe data and cache. That should essentially clean your phone at least to the point you can get a replacement.
  7. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone know how to update to the most recent version of Clockwork Recovery?
    I can't see it in the marketplace anymore and it's been a while since I used it, so it's not fresh in my mind.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  8. Ronbo85
    Offline

    Ronbo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale FL USA
    Hi what version are you on now? If you are referring to the clockwork mod when I check the marketplace its at 3.0 .0 .9. Are you possibly running a custom rom? I've had the marketplace act up with custom roms. Titanium backup has a market fix utility. Try searching market fix you will probably find that in another thread. If you can't let me know I will try and help further.

    sent via Droid X
  9. XanRules
    Offline

    XanRules New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, no custom ROM. And I'm on, like... 2.6. I think.
    Droid 2 Bootstrapper, same thing, yeah?

    EDIT: I can find it in the marketplace, but, it doesn't show up as me owning it. I'd have to buy it again.
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  10. sh1nkiknmidg3t
    Offline

    sh1nkiknmidg3t New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    I was at the bootloader menu and my phone died when I was doing an sbf. I'm stuck in the bootloader menu and cant get out to restart the process. Any help to get out of this menu?
  11. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    In regards to using RSD Lite, it says "DO NOT USE 2.2.20 SBF on a 2.3.20 device." I am in settings->about phone, but what are we looking at here? The kernal version?
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    It is the system version. You should use the full 2.3.2 sbf regardless though because sbfs are forwards compatible but not back.

    tappin and a talkin
  13. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    So you saying it is safe to use the sbf if my version says 2.4.330? I flashed the Deodoxed "rom" for the GRD team if that matters.

    On my backflip you could flash any one of the available sbf files at any given time. I easily downgraded the phone from Android 2.1 to 1.5 and even 2.2 to 2.1 despite radios being different on 1.5 vs 2.1. So reading that big red text I mentioned just totally threw me off as I never had any problems using an SBF to downgrade. I see no reason why the SBF file can not be used under any circumstances since it is whipping the internal nand memory completely clean.

    If it is indeed safe, it would be nice if some one could fix that error in the guide.
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  14. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ok so I flashed the SBF, but it seems like I might have broke the radio. I have a blue triangle in the status bar near the clock, and no network capability..It didnt do anything to my phone. It acted like it was reflashing the nand, but my version number is still the same, and my phone booted up and when it turned on, was exactly like I left it. So I dont get the point of the SBF. Shouldnt it wipe it clean to a factory state?

    EDIT: OK so I got it working again. It seems it just erased the root,bootstrap/recovery, but kept everything else in tact. I decided to re-root,re-bootstrap, went in to recovery and just do a format of the data and cache. Booted back in to the phone and it is back to stock from what I can see.
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2011
  15. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,759
    Likes Received:
    1,193
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Cleaned up the sbf post. I removed the 2.2.20 message. The link I posted was to tbh which was 2.3.20 any way, the point was for those who had the previous 2.2.20 sbf to go ahead and delete that so you do not accidently flash the wrong sbf file.

    I also removed the droid 2 global and droid pro steps and just moved them to their own section. Hopefully this stream lines that post and make it easier to understand.
  16. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Opps I just realized this is for the D2, not the D2G! With the D2G Froums grouped in with the D2 forums I guess I got confused.
  17. dfarns
    Offline

    dfarns New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi ya'll. im a "noob" (most common ice breaker by us "noobs" lol). anyways, i have had my D2 for about a year now and i just rooted a week ago...special thanks to zedomax @ droid2hacks.com and zedomax.com. i watch a awesome video that he created in Sep. of 2010 and he shows step-by-step on how to root the droid2 via usb using the cmd prompt on a pc/laptop (switching back-n-forth from his vid. to his writen instructions was very helpful as well). sry for the rambling, i just want to give everyone and understanding of what "plato" im on.

    as i have mentioned, i have been rooted for a week or so. within that week i have been researching on how to install ROM's and let me say "for me, rooting was much easier to grasp then installing a custom ROM". I thought it would be all down hill from rooting only to find out it's the first step up an adventurous mountain. and i'm not complaining btw. im very happy my phone is rooted even if i never get a custom ROM on it, its much faster all the way around the board UI and web browsing.

    however, im running:
    system version 2.3.20.A955
    android version 2.2
    baseband version BP_C_01.09.07P

    and it seems that all the custom ROM's i have been looking to install on my D2 you need a certain version gingerbread or froyo. can someone please explain to me what these are, because i personally thought they where also custom ROMs? also i plan on downloading droid 2 recovery bootstrap from the marked (seems this is the easy way to go) however, i would like to know if this app dumps the cache before it installs the new custom ROM and if so will it dump the dalvik cache as well?

    if there is already a thread for this please post it for me as i have searched and searched and i still seem lost. also, any advice from you guys will be greatly appreciated. i just hope my device isn't too outdated to jump in the game, im having lots of fun with my D2 now and i enjoy reading all of the GREAT posts on this site.
  18. MischiefsMommy
    Offline

    MischiefsMommy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Near a tourest spot


    This is all that I know.... lol.... I can tell you if you have a 2. whatever you are on Fryo 3. whatever is gingerbread. As far as the cache goes no... there is no ROM out there that I have seen that will wipe automatically for you. You will have to read to see if you even need to wipe. Some ROMs you don't have to. hope this helps.
Search tags for this page
a955 error switching phone to bp mode 0x70be
,
chmod 777 rage*.bin unable
,

dbretzm1@

,
down load roms droidx2 using phone
,
droid 4 class 28
,

droid2 x6

,
index[1]: unexpected chip 32
,
install rom droid 2
,
rsdlite reboots at bp load
,
runes of magic class administrator hack
,
superoneclick v1.6.3 download
,
unable to chmod rage