Droid 2 hacking/rom install class

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. XanRules

    XanRules Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So apparently you can't freeze anything without buying the expensive version of Titanium backup. Harumph.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  2. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes but imo its totally worth it. Its the easiest way (again imo) to remove bloat but do it safely.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  3. XanRules

    XanRules Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, I know. I was hoping I could find a place to get it using paypal since I'm not a fan of buying things on the phone. Security concerns. I'd rather download the apk on my computer and pay thru paypal.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think you can actually. If you dl the free version then go to the dev's website I think there is a paypal option where you get the key for the full.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
     
  5. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    21,745
    Likes Received:
    3,632
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,048
    The 5 bucks you pay for titanium is worth it. I dont buy many apps but the short list of apps I will out right pay for includes Titanium Backup, root explorer, and/or astro file manager
     
  7. holmes6

    holmes6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New England Patriots
    Ratings:
    +0
    Titanium backup free is not intuitive and causes lots of users (including me) to erase files they need later..
    I rarely read docs and almost never hose stuff, but I managed to with Titanium. Making a backup only to find that the .apk was permanently erased led me to my first sbf flash. Not that I'm mad about that, needed that lesson too, so no big deal.

    In the end I feel much better off having learned to "freeze" (known by the rest of the world as move files) manually instead (and without Chuck Norris' help).

    BTW no disrespect intended.. This thread you made is probably the single most helpful set of tutorials anywhere for the D2. I'm just not a big fan of TB.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2010
  8. jubei4769

    jubei4769 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So method 2 seems the easiest to do. Do I need to do a backup before I root? Im not gonna flash it yet that will come later

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  9. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    21,745
    Likes Received:
    3,632
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,048
    i had to update post 8...sorry for the delay
     
  10. bloodmut

    bloodmut Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    RSD on mac?

    Hi there-

    Pretty new to my droid, and way more new to rooting and flashing roms...my last phone was the env1. lawlz. anyways is it possible to do everything you've described on my macbook pro? It's all i have, and I would rather not screw something up and not be able to flash sbf cuz i'm on a mac. Thanks!
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Bootcamp a Windows installation or boot a Linux live CD and use the Linux flashing tool. Only real options available to a Mac user.
     
  12. bloodmut

    bloodmut Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Balls. Thank ya though
     
Search tags for this page
chmod 777 rage*.bin unable
,

dbretzm1@

,
down load roms droidx2 using phone
,
droid 2 we rom
,
droid 4 class 28
,

droid2 x6

,
index[1]: unexpected chip 32
,
install rom droid 2
,
rsdlite reboots at bp load
,
superoneclick v1.6.3 download