Droid 2 hacking/rom install class

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by pc747, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,457
    Likes Received:
    6,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,475
    to be honest I am stumped. I am tempted to suggest rsdlite but am not sure that will work. I am reading multiple forums right now for similar issues. Because so far everyone had been rerooting like they rooted before.
     
  2. Quagmyer

    Quagmyer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wouldn't happen to have a link to a nice walk-through for a rsdlite? ill give it a try.
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,457
    Likes Received:
    6,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,475
  4. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,457
    Likes Received:
    6,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,475
    use their rsdlite, but in this thread there is a video of the basics of how to set it up.
     
  5. Quagmyer

    Quagmyer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. pc747

    pc747 Regular Member
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    25,457
    Likes Received:
    6,854
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +7,475
    yes it is the file that vzw would use to reflash your phone.
     
  7. jcg11

    jcg11 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question. I have the ota 2.3.20 update already. I performed the 1-2-3 easy root and got my super user permision. I went to the correct rsdlight and went through the tutoral. After I got the triangle with the "i" I got to the wipe all data screen. My question is, should I do this right now if I have no backup? Won't this cause me to loose all my apps and data? Is there another process I should do before this?

    Also, since I declined to finish wiping all my data. I now have a blue triangle where my 3g status used to be and no access to internet. Any ideas?
     
  8. uneronumo

    uneronumo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a little lost

    Received my Droid 2 already updated to 2.3.20. Performed the "Computerless" (terminal emulator) steps to achieve root. Purchased Bootstrap and booted into recovery. Backed up. Attempted to install ROM (Fission vanilla 2.0.1).

    It seems everything worked until this point, but when I reboot after ROM install, it gets stuck at the "android" logo screen that replaces the "droid eye". I read that the first boot takes a while, but I let it sit for about 30 min and nothing happened. I was able to reinstall my backup and i'm functioning in Blur, but I hate it. Can anyone tell me where I went wrong?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  9. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    First off, good job! You so far are doing the things you need to do... you would be surprised how many people don't do a backup.

    Based on what you wrote I would just try again and follow the directions. You may not have done anything wrong, maybe just had a glitch. Try again and let us know how it went.
     
  10. uneronumo

    uneronumo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went through all the steps again and it seems to have worked! I guess just a little encouragement was what I needed. Thanks!

    Now all I have to figure out is how to load the Car Home app back on to my phone when the market doesn't seem to want to find it...
     
  11. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    i got the stuff on my sd card when i enter commands do i just let it sit?

    i have all the progs on my sd card i entered the commands do i hit a button after i enter them? or just enter them and let it sit
     
  12. thebird36

    thebird36 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +1
    so do i need bootstrap and rsdlite to put roms on? i maybe want to get unleashed er something do i need those to put that on? i have rom manager
     
Search tags for this page
chmod 777 rage*.bin unable
,

dbretzm1@

,
down load roms droidx2 using phone
,
droid 2 we rom
,
droid 4 class 28
,

droid2 x6

,
index[1]: unexpected chip 32
,
install rom droid 2
,
rsdlite reboots at bp load
,
superoneclick v1.6.3 download