Droid 2 Global GPS

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by joshwestbrook, Feb 24, 2012.

  1. joshwestbrook
    Offline

    joshwestbrook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    On my Wife's D2G when trying to use the GPS, it never seems to connect to a satellite or triangulate. I have tried everything I can think of and been searching for a solution for the better part of today. I checked on my DX to confirm it wasn't just a my location, etc... no problems on the DX.

    I tried re-calibration using GPS Test, tried dumping all cache for Maps and any other utility that uses or may have cached GPS in the past. I tried to "Clear AGPS" and "Update AGPS" but that didn't seem to solve my issue either. Tried restarting, pulling the battery, etc. It used to be rooted, but I recently SBF'd back to Froyo and then took the OTA update to 2.3.3 GB.

    The phone:
    System Version: 4.5.608.A956.Verizon.en.US
    Model: DROID2 GLOBAL
    Android Version: 2.3.3
    Baseband: N_01.80.00R -- Is there a new one available?
    Kernel: 2.6.32.9-gb092e69.. blah blah
    Build: 4.5.1_57_D2G-38
    ERI: 5
    PRL: 52644

    Any ideas? I just re-rooted it using D3 Easy Root, Zip aligned all APK's, killed some bloatware. Since I'm rooted, I could probably make some changes to the build.prop, etc if needed. I just need to know where to look :happy3:

    Thanks for the help!
  2. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    This probably means your phone's GPS receiver is simply dead. I can't really think of some other reason for this. My D2G always locks to GPS in 1-2 seconds max when outside (up to 10 minutes if no internet connection is present).
  3. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    edit: ok reread your post
    maybe SBF again and wipe your data/cache before and after
    maybe will work
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  4. joshwestbrook
    Offline

    joshwestbrook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies guys. I'll try SBF'ing again and see what happens
  5. joshwestbrook
    Offline

    joshwestbrook New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried that route of SBF'ing twice. I also tried Liberty3 v2, but accidentally installed the rom for the D2 lol. OOOOOOPS. So, I'm back to stock now after SBF'ing (I'm getting REALLY GOOD at this), but 2 problems:

    - GPS is still not working
    - Looking for "Liberty3D2G-2.0Gold.zip" -- Figured I'd give this a try, but all the sites I've found links for seem to be dead with 404 errors. I even checked on Rummler's page:

    Index of /jrummy/roms/liberty/3

    Thanks guys

    Grr.. this GPS bug is driving me crazy.
  6. Gasai Yuno
    Offline

    Gasai Yuno New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rausu-cho
    I don't think you'll get it working in Liberty. Warranty replacement would be the best idea.

    As for Liberty, I don't even remember an official release of 3.0 for the D2G…
  7. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    agree with G Y, a custom rom isn't going to help
    you GPS is broken, if you need it get a different phone
    and sell the old one, on ebay
Search tags for this page
a956 system-v4.5.629a956.verizon.en.us android-v2.3.4 build-
,
d2g gps
,
droid 2 global gps
,

droid 2 global gps not working

,
droid 2 global gps stopped working
,
droid 2 gps
,

droid 2 gps not working

,
droid2 enable gps
,
gps droid 2 global
,
gps not working on motorola droid 2
,
gps on droid 2
,
how do u make gps non active on a droid 2
,
how to turn gps droid 2
,
how to turn on gps on droid 2 global
,
how to use gps droid 2 global