Droid 2 Global Bloatware Removal Script

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by buryboi, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. cdonohue
    Offline

    cdonohue New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just a quick question on this...how noticeable is the battery life gain from this cause the d2g battery blows
  2. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my opinion...If the only reason you're rooting is to remove the bloatware, it's probably not worth it.

    That being said, I feel like the phone is faster, and that the battery lasts longer, but by how much...I have no idea.
  3. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    @buryboi,

    could step 9 in your your original post be written as a part of the script itself, with the final -rm replaced with -$1? Then running the script with an argument rm or add would perform the required finction?

    Or is there a problem with the su command in the script body etc?
  4. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The first part of Step 9 is only done the first time you install the script (everything except the last line "bloat -rm"). It cant be done as part of the script because it is what makes the script executable.

    As far as arguments go, the script has two (it actually has three, but the third one uninstalls it the script so it is unlisted). Once installed as in step 9 (but skipping the last command "bloat -rm") type "bloat" and hit enter to list the arguments.

    bloat -rm
    removes the bloatware

    bloat -add
    puts it back.

    And yes, there do appear to be issues running su in a script (but I'm not the most knowledgeable on scripts, so there might be a workaround).

    Let me know if I completely misunderstood your question.

    Also if you've got the Clockwork Bootloader setup, it is easier to flash the script as an update.zip, this will remove the bloatware and install the script in one fell swoop. To get the bloatware back, flash it again, or open terminal and type "bloat -add."
  5. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Ah, yes; it only has to be run once when installing the script... I missed that part.

    I just thought that having a script would make the operation less prone to typos and other 'disasters'.

    I modified the script a bit by removing some of the apps I do use (Kindle, MyVZ etc) and run it, but, a bit worryingly, got a :applet not found message. I have no idea which of the applets i wanted to rename was not on my system... I find the Android U*x version surprisingly crippled; I tried do run a series of commands like these

    $su
    #cd /
    #find . -name "*.bak"

    but got

    find: not found...

    what??? Then I tried

    #ls -ltR

    and got

    -ltR: No such file or directory, although

    #ls -R

    worked.

    How the heck can I find on this crippled system what *.bak files are present? There is no grep, no pg, no more...
  6. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the missing applets are DX apps (Most of the apps have the same names except a couple, rather than having two scripts, I just made one that removes either or).

    I assume you have busybox, but yes even with that many commands are lacking. But heck...at the end of the day I guess it is just a phone (I cant believe I just typed that...) :)
  7. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Again, you hit the nail on the head... I did notice 2 or 3 apps with DX in the name and was a bit wondering...

    I also started reading up a bit on BusyBox and see there are some usage syntax issues I should have familiarized myself before I called it names... ;-) The version of busybox included in the z4root isntallation is actually pretty capable, and the applets come with many standard parameters, including those in ls and grep; even awk!
  8. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    @buryboi

    I think there is a problem with the bloat script on my device: I run bloat -rm, found app not found, then I went to /system/shin and found bloat with 755 permissions. I then went to /???/app (forgot the directory...), but the bloat apps had not their extensions changed from apk to bak. I am not sure what's wrong, but I'm still rooted... Will play with reloaded stilt without the DX apps.
  9. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you mean /system/sbin? You shouldn't have a /system/shin folder. Regardless, the script needs to be in /system/xbin to be executable.

    If it is in a different folder you'll have to navigate to that folder in terminal and type ./bloat -rm
  10. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Sorry for the typos; it was /system/xbin and /data/app. For some reason, the script doesn't work on my D2G. I'm rooted, have su permissions, can explore the directories, see the /system/xbin/bloat with 755 permissions, but when I try to run the script, I get : applet not found and all my bloatware is still there, with apk extensions... When I run

    # busybox find / -name "Block*.apk",
    I get
    /system/app/Blockbuster.apk

    Don't really know why the script fails...
  11. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is your busybox instance in /system/xbin or /system/bin? If you type "bloat" does it show Usage commands or applet not found? Wait....I think I got it.

    I think you said you modified the script. How did you do that? Sometimes saving the modified script screws up the format. Try this:

    Open terminal on the D2G and navigate to the folder you have bloat in, which you said was /system/xbin. Type the following:

    Code:
    $su
    
    #busybox mount -orw,remount /system
    
    #dos2unix bloat
    
    
    Then type "bloat" and see if you get usage commands. If you do, type "bloat -rm"
  12. tony_g
    Offline

    tony_g New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    @buryboi, you are a champ!

    To avoid introducing those pesky end-of-line DOS characters etc, I used MKS's vi to edit and save the script an a WinXP laptop, but even that clearly did not prevent the problem. However, after issuing the command

    busybox dos2unix bloat

    everything worked as it should. Thank you!
  13. bmoney1229
    Offline

    bmoney1229 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This method is GREAT! I tried the Fission rom but didn't like it because it removes too many stock apps/options and it seemed a bit buggy to me. This option allows the user to "remove" only the specified apps. Thanks to the OP for the work on this

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  14. bmoney1229
    Offline

    bmoney1229 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a Droid noob, so go easy on me... does anyone know how to get rid of VZ Backup Assistant and DLNA? I thought this script would do the trick but they are still installed on my phone

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  15. buryboi
    Offline

    buryboi Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @bmoney, Backup Assistant can be removed, however it does cause some issues if you need to do a factory reset. For that reason, it has been left off the list. DLNA, is safe to remove, I just didn't put it in the script.
  16. Dukefrukem
    Offline

    Dukefrukem New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I cannot find z4root on the market. Was it taken down?
  17. nedry
    Offline

    nedry New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a description anywhere of what each of these apps are? How did you come up with the list, trial and error?

    I need to add back the 3g Hotspot, do you know which one it is?

  18. hendricksfan01
    Offline

    hendricksfan01 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    flo-rida
    worked as diirected. thank you
  19. avilaenterprises
    Offline

    avilaenterprises New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please help w advice

    hi i replaced the front glass on my droid 2 a955. its in and went together pretty good. i just cant get it to power back on. i swaped the camera and power buttons around just to be sure they werent in the wrong place. they are fine. i plug the phone in and the moto m symbol shows up but that is it. i cant get it to power on now... what do i need to do? ive spent hours searchin online for awnsewrs
  20. Steffylicious
    Offline

    Steffylicious New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    I ran this script ages ago, and it was pretty awesome.

    However, the other day I tried to re-add the bloat in order to get my phone ready to update to Gingerbread.
    Apparently I'm missing the file "com.vzw.hss.myverizon-2.apk". It's completely disappeared, and there's no backup of it either.

    Would this prevent me from being able to update to Gingerbread? Because my phone keeps insisting that I'm up to date.
Search tags for this page
android some bloat removed script
,
d2g bloatware
,
d2g we bloatware
,
droid 2 bloatware removal script
,

droid 2 global bloatware

,

droid 2 global bloatware list

,

droid 2 global bloatware removal

,
how to remove bloat ware on droid 2 global
,

remove bloatware droid 2 global

,
remove droid 2 global bloatware
,
remove verizon bloatware droid 2 global
,
safe bloatware to remove d2g