Droid 2 Global Bloatware Removal Script

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by buryboi, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, I was happy to read some of this but when I got to the WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T DELETE THEM part... my face sank... when I unboxed my droid 2 I was immediately upset by all the preloaded crap that was on the phone. Not thinking about how it would effect the ota updates I got z4 root. rooted. and nuked about half of the preinstalled junk. aka DELETED all the apks. the recovery system on the phone is stock as well as the system itself. (2.4.29.A956.Verizon.en.US) would it at all be possible to re-install what i've nuked and the ota update will work or would it not because of something with the other files associated with the apks?? please help i dont want to flash a complete new system or risk bricking my phone at all :((
     
  2. ComradeF

    ComradeF New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Plano, TX, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    P Dizzay -- yeah, I was in the EXACT same boat as you. I made the switch from an old BlackBerry Curve and was extremely excited about trying out Android. I'm also the type of person who likes bare minimum / stock stuff so I can customize it from the ground up and know every inch of what's been done... so I experienced the same letdown when I came to realize how it was going to have to be with the D2G. Not only is the bootloader locked so Cyanogenmod probably won't happen, but it's also so full of bloated crap... makes my head spin...!

    And like you, I went on a spree and killed a bunch of stuff early on. Oops. ;)

    Check this out: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-global/96327-droid-2-global-system-dump.html

    Use 7Zip to open the several layers of that, and eventually you'll get to all the APKs and ODEXs in system/app. Whew!

    It's still a damn crying shame that the D2G is so far removed from Google's stock Android. I have really come to appreciate my D2G in the ~month I've had it, but to this day, this is the one thing that nags at me and makes me question my decision.
     
  3. buryboi

    buryboi Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    To install the system update, you have to put the bloatware back

    Download the link ComradeF posted above (the Droid 2 Global system dump). Unfortunately you cant just install them like you would an app from the market. They must be pushed to the /system/app folder and then the permissions must be properly set. Here are some more detailed instructions if you need them:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-2-global/107095-new-update-7.html#post1112999
     
  4. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!
    I'm currently at school so when I get home tonight i will be definately trying this.
    I just now purchased the root explorer. The cost of the app was peanuts comapared to the anxiety i was dealing with over this. thanks for replying very swiftly becuase i was seriously considering full smb reformat when i got home today. Your link to step by step instructions is VERY helpful and makes complete sense. The only thing stopping me from doing this now is that the school computers don't let me install anything. so 7zip is not available :(

    THANKS SO MUCH!
     
  5. buryboi

    buryboi Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem!

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  6. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so I replaced every single app that was missing successfully, rebooted, all apps present.
    Weird thing, contact pictures gone, and when i click on "system update" it says system update is not available without a Motorola service account. Has a button to setup the account but only shows the account manager window with only options as facebook, myspace, twitter. etc.

    Any suggestions?
     
  7. buryboi

    buryboi Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your Google account still there after adding the apps back and rebooting? I'm not sure why it would be gone (unless restoring some deleted app messed up your primary account somehow). As far as I'm aware, I've never heard of a "Motorola Service Account" so it must be talking about a google account. The profile pictures are stored in the "cloud" (I think) so if they are not showing up, it would seem like your not really syncing with google, and the contacts that do show up are left over from the last time it synced (theoretically before you restored the apps and rebooted.) Which apps did you remove and put back? And did you make sure get all the ".odex" files back as well?
     
  8. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My google account is still active on the phone and i can send/recieve messages.
    Although, when i sync the accounts in the "accounts" menu it shows the syncing animation in the window but not in the status bar. Is there a way i can re-setup my google account? i have all my contacts in a vcard file so contact integrity is not a problem.

    As far as applications re-installed/copied....

    amazon mp3
    android-syncservice-app
    backupassistance client
    blockbuster
    blue-services
    buacontactadapter
    cityid
    cmas
    friendfeed
    help center
    homesyncwizard
    inpocketservice
    kindle
    mynet
    myverizon
    newswidget
    performance manager
    skype
    social share
    status widget
    weather widget
    work contacts

    Would it be that sync service or blur-services just needs to re-register my google account to be back to normal?
     
  9. buryboi

    buryboi Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, unfortunately we're starting to get above my skill set here. Aside from the backup assistant, I'm not sure any of those (see below) would actually show up in the app drawer, so it may be that they're not all the way "re-installed". I assume you all ready checked, but are the permissions correct for each of the apps you put back?

    android-syncservice-app
    backupassistance client
    blur-services
    buacontactadapter
    cmas
    homesyncwizard
    work contacts

    This motorola thread seems to indicate that a factory reset should fix it, but this is not ideal...https://supportforums.motorola.com/message/210267

    A factory reset would be a pain, but If you titanium backup all user apps and data first, then factory reset, and use titanium backup to restore all of your user apps and data it shouldn't take that long...
     
  10. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Darn.
    When it was acting weird i knew i really messed something up by this point.
    currently titanium backup is backing up all my data and im going to factory reset.
    we'll see how this goes :/
     
  11. buryboi

    buryboi Premium Member
    Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    One last thought...You might try fixing permissions using Clockwork Recovery/Bootstrapper.
     
  12. P Dizzay

    P Dizzay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oops. too late. phone restored. all apps back installed and personal data restored. syncs with google and pulls contact pictures from facebook like how it used to before the system app restoration. from the surface it appears to be back just the way it was out of the box. the update is currently downloading. (hense I didn't recieve the error)
    for future reference what apps is it ok to freeze and unfreeze for updates without causing harm to the system like that?
     
Search tags for this page
d2g bloatware
,
d2g we bloatware
,
droid 2 bloatware list
,
droid 2 bloatware removal script
,

droid 2 global bloatware

,
droid 2 global bloatware list
,

droid 2 global bloatware removal

,
remove bloatware droid 2 global
,
remove droid 2 global bloatware
,
safe bloatware to remove d2g