Droid 2 global acting up- overheating/freezing & gps

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by sa1, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. sa1

    sa1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all. My droid has been having problems the past couple days, here's what's going on. I went on a road trip this past weekend and used google maps/navigation which worked flawlessly. I arrived at my hotel (just outside Chicago), with navigation still working great. The next morning, my droid could not get a gps fix at all. Maps was showing what looked like network based location, accurate to 2300 meters. Later that day, my battery died so I popped in a spare. 10 minutes later it was down to 70% and my phone felt like I had put it on a stove. I took the battery out and let it cool for about 20 min. I turned it back on, and something was causing it to freeze up pretty badly. LauncherPro was force closing, random apps were starting, it was weird. I must've power cycled it at least 10 times before it finally quit. So now two days later, I still can't get a gps fix. I downloaded gps status, reset the gps cache and downloaded new data to no avail. I tried to program (*228 + 1) and after about a minute and a half my droid just died. It did this three times, haven't tried again. I uninstalled & reinstalled google maps update to no avail as well. Sorry for the long story but maybe the problems are connected.. any thoughts?
     
  2. louy99

    louy99 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sounds like you did everything I would have done.... did you try wiping data/factory reset? if this were me, i'd just go to verizon and swap it out for another.

    Sent from my DROID2
     
  3. 13th angel

    13th angel Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have a task manager or antivirus installed uninstall them. Havent heard of them causing that big of problems but they can cause some serious problems. Try also doing a factory reset (settings > privacy) and if that doesnt help then post back.
     
  4. sa1

    sa1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright well no, I don't have a task manager or antivirus app, and I didn't try a factory reset. Good thing I didn't too, because I just tried running gps status a few minutes ago and it almost immediately detected & fixed to 6 satellites. What the heck... a week of nothing and then all the sudden bingo? I didn't install any new apps or change any settings. If it happens again I'm off to my local Verizon store
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Doesn't mean your issue is solved. If it comes back again definitely do a factory data reset. Then if it occurs again take it to Verizon for replacement.
     
  6. zero7404

    zero7404 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the matter with this phone ? mine reboots randomly (once a week now), the data disconnects even when i have battery profile set to performance mode ....

    this is either garbage hardware or issues coming from android fragmentation via motorola's software. IF an update is pushed, i would like to see things smoothed out. if not, then i would likely consider another platform in the future. wish i could say that i can count on the phone when i need it, but i can't.

    the next time i'm ready for a new phone, i'll reconsider whether i really do need a smartphone or just a plain phone (that is more reliable than a smartphone).
     
  7. sa1

    sa1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi again, I know this thread is old, but it is relevant to my new problem. So I finally got around to calling verizon and getting a replacement phone (the gps was screwed- safe mode/factory reset didn't do a thing. It would take 10-15 minutes to find a satellite soon after my last post in this thread, and never was remedied). The new phone had been working great- gps was back to normal. The second day after I got it, however, (had it for three days, so yesterday) it locked up and it was like invisible fingers were all over the place on the screen. I was typing a text message with the standard multi touch keyboard and all the sudden there was 30 some extra characters entered at random and very fast. From there I got back to my home screen only to have an app shortcut "pressed", and from there it was stuck. I tried to power off and when the power menu came up airplane mode was selected (I didn't even touch the screen), great. I pulled the batt out and found I could not unlock my phone- it was like there was a dead zone in the middle of the lock slider's path. What is weird is that I could slide the vibrate/silent mode slider fine. I can unlock it if I put the phone into landscape mode.. but the screen is still going nuts. It reminds me of when your finger is damp and it gets stuck as you try to swipe across the screen so nothing happens. Also, when this is happening, the softkey buttons will either all be disabled, or just one or two. I have no idea what is causing this, but it is extremely frustrating to have had everything working again and then for my phone to go kaputt again. Not rooted, no out of market apps, and no, no antivirus/task killers. Nothing out of the ordinary (from what I can tell). If anyone has any insight on this, please share. I'm dyin' here.
     
  8. Navyvet2010

    Navyvet2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know exactly what you're going through. My Droid 2 Global has been doing the same things. I'm on my 3rd phone since February. I drove from Chicago to Detroit this past weekend and my phone heated up to 136 degrees. The other phones have gotten up to that degree as well. My GPS will randomly stop working or will take forever to find a signal even when I have full 3G working. I've been complaining to Verizon quite a bit and all they are willing to do is to replace the phone again. I'm not sure I want to stick with this phone anymore. It's driving me nuts!
     
  9. sa1

    sa1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Navyvet, I'm sorry to hear you're having the same problems-- infuriating, is it not? 3 phones all with the same problem huh... that's really pathetic. I have an update: Called Verizon again and they sent me another replacement. However, while I was waiting, I tried something I didn't before- I went into the recovery menu and wiped the cache partition as well as did a factory reset from there. To my surprise, the gps is working as good as new (on the original phone). What the hell? I did two factory resets just to be thorough (from the privacy menu) and yet the problem was still present. Is there a difference between a recovery menu reset and a regular reset? Anyway, the 2nd replacement is working fine so far except none of my apps were restored... (yes I had restore/back up settings & apps checked) Oh well. Hopefully this will be the end of my problems, and maybe the gingerbread update will do some good.
     
  10. Navyvet2010

    Navyvet2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's been extremely infuriating. I called Verizon again today and I was talking with tech support for nearly 45 minutes. The lady I spoke said that she exhausted all options and that she offered to send me a Droid X. I basically said that would be fine. She put me on hold for nearly 10 minutes, came back and said that her supervisor said that since I've had 2 brand new Droid 2's sent to me, I have to take another Droid 2. Even though the replacements I've received have been "Certified Like New." I was pretty upset after this. She offered me a new Droid X and then came back and said that I have to take another Droid 2. I asked what happens when I have the same problems again and she said I'm just going to have to have it replaced again or I can purchase a Certified Preowned phone. (I checked out the CPO phones they have and they have a very small selection. The only phone that I would consider buying is the iPhone 4, but I'd rather stick with Android.) After all of this, the lady recommended I didn't use my Gmail account on my Droid 2 because Gmail has somehow been causing overheating. I think that is absolutely ridiculous that I shouldn't use my Gmail. I need my Gmail. I'm supposed to get this replacement phone tomorrow and I'm pretty sure that it's going to have all the same problems as before.

    As for your update.... Good luck! I hope it works out for you!

    The Gingerbread update was released a few weeks ago and I still haven't received it. I asked Verizon about it when it first came out and they were pretty much clueless about it (as they are for most things).
     
  11. warped1987

    warped1987 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Plattsburgh, NY
    Ratings:
    +1
    The GB update actually didn't come out yet. It's not coming out until sometime after the Droid 3 is released.

    Verizon and Motorola jumped the gun when they said they were releasing it. Apparently the update had some glitches and VZW didn't want to release it with aall those bugs, so they told MOTO to go back and fix it

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
     
  12. Navyvet2010

    Navyvet2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright, yea that makes sense then. I wish somebody at Verizon could have told me that when I was asking them.

    Thanks for the info!
     
  13. sa1

    sa1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That doesn't make sense if the supervisor's reasoning for not sending a droid x was because you've already had 2 "brand new" phones sent since they were actually refurbs. And no gmail account? Doesn't that basically = little to no functionality? Hopefully the fourth's a charm... so far mine has been working. My only gripe is that when I got the first replacement, my apps didn't restore, so I used astro. Problem is, they didn't show up in My Apps in the market, and I figured it would stay that way, until a couple days later all the sudden they were all there. This hasn't happened yet and I'm really hoping it does so I don't have to manually download them all again. Warped- that's what I heard as well. I believe it too- the ota update bricked my dad's x last week.
     
  14. Navyvet2010

    Navyvet2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had that same problems with apps not restoring right away when I had my original Droid 1 replaced for the first time. That was back in December I think. They eventually reappeared and everything was good again. I think that just might be a network issue or something along those lines.

    As you can imagine, I was pretty ticked off when the Verizon rep told me that she was going to set me up with a new Droid X and then 10 minutes later come back and tell me nevermind. I told her that it didn't make any sense what she was telling me. The phones that I've been through have not been brand new phones, except for the first Droid 2 Global I received. After that, they've all been refurbs. I even explained to her that they came in packaging that said "Certified Like New" on it. She still told me those were brand new phones. I didn't feel like arguing with her anymore so I just let it go. But then when she told me that I shouldn't use my Gmail... How am I going to have a phone that is basically run by Google and not be able to use Google email? That makes zero sense. I disregarded that "advice" she gave me and I set my Gmail account up. 2nd day of having my "brand new refurbed" phone and it seems to be doing okay. Although yesterday, I did have some slight overheating but it wasn't as bad as it usually gets. I think it has something to do with the GPS. I was trying to use the check-in feature on Facebook and for some reason it couldn't locate where I was. I had full 3G signal and it wasn't working. That's when the phone started to heat up a little bit. After I quit trying to check-in on Facebook, the phone started to cool back down. So my guess is, is that Droid 2 Global has a GPS defect or a flaw in it that causes overheating or doesn't allow the GPS to work on a regular basis. Hopefully this will get fixed in the Gingerbread update.
     
  15. gthotie5

    gthotie5 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global acting up
,
droid 2 global freezes
,
droid 2 global freezing
,
droid 2 global freezing up
,

droid 2 global overheating

,

droid 2 overheating

,
make my droid x2 faster stop freezing
,
motorola droid 2 global overheating
,
what causes a droid 2 to overheat discharge
,
why does my phone gps freeze