Droid 2 Flashing D2 Fission?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Nblufire12, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys

    Just rooted my D2 with DoRoot and that went well....

    Installed ROM Manager, flashed clockworkmod recovery,

    wiped data/factory reset
    wiped cache...

    tried to apply the update.zip which was the D2Fission.zip that i renamed to update.zip, which for some reason didnt allow me to search my SDCard for the .zip

    anyways i try to flash the update.zip d2 fission ROM and it gives me the E:\ Signature Verification Failed.

    How do I fix this?

    Is it ROM Manager?

    Or can I use SPRecovery for my D2?

    I've done all this with my Droid 1 before... killing me!
  2. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    U need to install using BOOTSTRAP...once in bootstrap, click recovery then reboot and choose .zip from sd after wiping data and cache

    Sent from my DROID2
  3. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh wow what's that?

    Never heard of it before. Is this Droid 2 only?

    I just thought I could root and flash a custom ROM... Are there any good guides for this?

    Thanks.
  4. Firesong3k
    Offline

    Firesong3k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Download bootstrap for the d2... that will allow you to boot into clockword recovery to install the rom.. make sure u make a backup of your existing setup in case anything goes wrong!!

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  5. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just found it on the Market.

    How do I make a backup of my existing setup? I can't do nandroid backups can I?

    Thanks!
  6. Firesong3k
    Offline

    Firesong3k New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Once you install bootstrapper, you will. Open bootstrap and select bootstrap recovery... when it returns SUCCESS, press reboot recovery. Once rebooted into clockwork recovery you will be able to do backups there. From there you will also be able to install new roms. Just make sure you follow the install instructions for whatever rom you choose as they can vary..

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  7. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    yes these are good instructions :)...always make a backup just in case something goes terribly wrong



    Sent from my DROID2
  8. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How would the installation of the ROM be different from a normal Droid 1 ROM?

    And I guess I'd do a Nandroid backup.
  9. leakim13
    Offline

    leakim13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The world of droid2 is vaaaaastly different than that of ur (our) previous experience (accidentally smashed my perfectly running d1 on monday, filed insurance claim, due to a backorder issue by 10am tues I had a brand new d2 waiting at my office- thank u asurion) . I have also spent this week learning the ins and outs. I have rooted and unrooted a few times, had to flash a recovery, and haven't decided on a rom yet as none are really catching my eye.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. Nblufire12
    Offline

    Nblufire12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh gotya, the D2 Fission looks pretty cool.

    I'm running ShadowRom now on my D1
  11. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    They are very different...motorola tried to stop ppl from rooting devices I heard and change everything but someone always find root access :)


    Sent from my DROID2
Search tags for this page

flashing fission on a droid

,

flashing fission?

,

what is flashing fission