Droid 2 FB Sync Issue

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Dina0926, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Dina0926
    Offline

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I am new to the Droid world and to this site. Having just switched from a BB Curve to the droid 2, it does take some getting used to. I will say that the phone is pretty intuitive, however I seem to be having the hardest time syncing my contacts with facebook without all of my FB contacts appearing…on the full version of FB for the droid 2, there is a tip that syncing can be done under the application settings, but I can not find this setting.

    I have talked with Motorola about the sync because the owner’s manual says that there are three sync options, but I cannot find any of them and they are clueless.

    · Sync all - Sync data about all friends to Contacts
    · Sync with existing contacts - Sync data only about friends already inContacts
    · Don't Sync - Use information about friends only in Facebook

    Does anyone have any ideas on this?
  2. thejlb
    Offline

    thejlb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mt. Juliet
    I am having the same problem. I already synced my account and now I'm trying to get rid of it. I.ve went into the settings and deleted the account but when I go back to re-add it, it automatically re syncs my contacts. How do un sync it for good????
  3. ZPrime
    Offline

    ZPrime New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These options exist with the Market-downloadable Facebook app. This is what the Droid (1) used.

    The D2 now has a special MOTOBLUR-based Facebook system integrated. while you can still download the normal Facebook app from the Market, it does NOT allow you to setup your sync preferences as the MOTOBLUR app "takes over."

    This sucks, because as you've seen the MOTOBLUR version syncs all of your FB contacts to the phone, which blows. I like having FB linked to the phone so I can get status updates and pictures from my normal contacts, but for all of the other 200+ people I have "friended" I don't need their crap showing in my contact list... MOTOBLUR doesn't understand this.

    Somebody at Motorola needs to be shown how normal people use Facebook. :p

    There's currently no work-around for this that I'm aware of.
  4. Dina0926
    Offline

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also have the downloaded application but can not find the three sync options. if you can point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  5. ZPrime
    Offline

    ZPrime New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The downloaded Facebook app won't allow you to setup a "sync account" because MotoBlur's version of Facebook blocks/overrides it.
  6. Dina0926
    Offline

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is it possible to uninstall/delete MotoBlur's version of Facebook?
  7. ZPrime
    Offline

    ZPrime New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Without rooting the phone, no. Even once it is rooted, it may not be removable because of how it ties in to the main sync process. Blur (and HTC SenseUI) both do weird things to the phone.

    Droid 1 was 100% stock Android as far as the base OS goes, which is why it didn't have any problems here.
  8. Dreamer
    Offline

    Dreamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas!!
    When I deleted the original facebook it removed all the sync contacts and there is no way to sync from facebook from the market. So I'm going to restore my phone to factory settings (as I've only had it a few days it won't take me long to reset things how I have them) and just put up with the annoyance of all my facebook contacts in my contact list.
  9. Barristro
    Offline

    Barristro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Note: I do not currently use Facebook, so I can only guess at the problem.

    Is it possible to set up a different folder/group so that you don't have to scroll through those extra 200 people? I know it isn't a solution, but it might be a decent work around.





    Dear Motorola and Google;
    Please pay attention. We do not like how your contact list works. We want to be able to sort by last name (we are business men, not 14 year-old girls who list everyone by nicknames). We want to be able to have contact lists without 1,000 people. Having a search function is NOT a solution to your outdated design.
  10. crankyg
    Offline

    crankyg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Barristro
    Offline

    Barristro New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My problem is that I don't like having to search for contacts. I agree that typing in (part of) a name is a working solution. But, I am used to scrolling by last name. I can do that much faster than I can open up the keyboard and type in a few letters.
  12. crankyg
    Offline

    crankyg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree ! I did hear of an app to download, where you can touch and write the "letter" on the screen to search , instead of sliding open the keyboard.

    Technology = phewy !
  13. crankyg
    Offline

    crankyg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw , do you know of a way to put contacts into groups for easier access?
  14. Fera6037
    Offline

    Fera6037 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I realize that the motoblur version of the facebook widget overwrites the android facebook app by forcing all your facebook contacts in your contacts list, however i ran into a problem.

    before i figured out its an all or nothing thing and the android app doesnt help anything, i deleted my motoblur facebook account to remove my facebook contacts. But now that i know its all or nothing i would rather have them all in there to still have the pictures and status updates linked to my phone contacts, the only problem is when i re added my account it didnt give me any of my contacts back. no pictures or anything, and when i tell it to show the facebook group it says "you do not have any contacts"

    like i said it worked the first time and added them all to my phone, i removed the account which removed all the contacts and everything linked to them, but now that i want it all back and re added my facebook account it doesnt give me anything
  15. CM-Freak
    Offline

    CM-Freak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    Hey, new to this forum just signed up and having the same issue with my Droid 2.
    i love the droid2 but this needs a fix by moto cause it is a huge pain in the ass and hard to figure out and change.
    however i do have a kinda work around if it helps some people.

    first- for the contacts part if you go to contacts and click the top bar labeled "Contacts:All Contacts" and change it to Google (which should be where your contacts from your phone are) then your contacts list will only have your inputted contacts but also it will have the facebook info linked (pic,status,etc). Hope that helps some people with that issue

    second- for the moto facebook giving updates for people you dont care about if you click on it and click menu and go to settings there is a "Selected contact(s)" button if you click it you can change it to only some contacts you select or groups you select. Again hope that helps some people.

    Well i hope this was somewhat helpful to some people, as i stumbled into these settings as i tried to fix issues similar to the ones i read here. If anyone needs a more strict step by step of how to do these things let me know.
  16. Maximilious
    Offline

    Maximilious New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can't set them up through the phone perhaps you can set them up via groups in FB. I have several groups in FB for the random highschool friends I no longer talk to just to filter them out from the real friends I do talk to. Perhaps FB groups will sync via MOTOBLUR.
  17. CM-Freak
    Offline

    CM-Freak New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    just go to contacts > menu button > Display Groups > Create new Group
    then just add contacts

    you can use these groups to filter social network updates
  18. ripsting
    Offline

    ripsting New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I contacted Motorola through their support email address. Here's what they had to say



    But the guide they posted isn't relevant to the Droid 2.
    The necessary options aren't there.

    I would encourage everyone to contact Motorola at mot_mailbox@custhelp.com to push this issue ahead in their agenda.
  19. crankyg
    Offline

    crankyg New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CM, I just looked at this now, and it's exactly what I wanted. Thank you so much for your help :)
  20. yankeebaseball
    Offline

    yankeebaseball New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i deleted the app and installed it again and there still a few ppl in my contacts from FB that i dont need wut shud i do?
Search tags for this page

facebook sync data only about friends already in contacts do