Droid 2 FB Sync Issue

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Dina0926, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. Dina0926

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, I am new to the Droid world and to this site. Having just switched from a BB Curve to the droid 2, it does take some getting used to. I will say that the phone is pretty intuitive, however I seem to be having the hardest time syncing my contacts with facebook without all of my FB contacts appearing…on the full version of FB for the droid 2, there is a tip that syncing can be done under the application settings, but I can not find this setting.

    I have talked with Motorola about the sync because the owner’s manual says that there are three sync options, but I cannot find any of them and they are clueless.

    · Sync all - Sync data about all friends to Contacts
    · Sync with existing contacts - Sync data only about friends already inContacts
    · Don't Sync - Use information about friends only in Facebook

    Does anyone have any ideas on this?
     
  2. thejlb

    thejlb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mt. Juliet
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same problem. I already synced my account and now I'm trying to get rid of it. I.ve went into the settings and deleted the account but when I go back to re-add it, it automatically re syncs my contacts. How do un sync it for good????
     
  3. ZPrime

    ZPrime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    These options exist with the Market-downloadable Facebook app. This is what the Droid (1) used.

    The D2 now has a special MOTOBLUR-based Facebook system integrated. while you can still download the normal Facebook app from the Market, it does NOT allow you to setup your sync preferences as the MOTOBLUR app "takes over."

    This sucks, because as you've seen the MOTOBLUR version syncs all of your FB contacts to the phone, which blows. I like having FB linked to the phone so I can get status updates and pictures from my normal contacts, but for all of the other 200+ people I have "friended" I don't need their crap showing in my contact list... MOTOBLUR doesn't understand this.

    Somebody at Motorola needs to be shown how normal people use Facebook. :p

    There's currently no work-around for this that I'm aware of.
     
  4. Dina0926

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also have the downloaded application but can not find the three sync options. if you can point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated.
     
    #4 Dina0926, Aug 16, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  5. ZPrime

    ZPrime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The downloaded Facebook app won't allow you to setup a "sync account" because MotoBlur's version of Facebook blocks/overrides it.
     
  6. Dina0926

    Dina0926 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    is it possible to uninstall/delete MotoBlur's version of Facebook?
     
  7. ZPrime

    ZPrime Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Without rooting the phone, no. Even once it is rooted, it may not be removable because of how it ties in to the main sync process. Blur (and HTC SenseUI) both do weird things to the phone.

    Droid 1 was 100% stock Android as far as the base OS goes, which is why it didn't have any problems here.
     
  8. Dreamer

    Dreamer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Texas!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I deleted the original facebook it removed all the sync contacts and there is no way to sync from facebook from the market. So I'm going to restore my phone to factory settings (as I've only had it a few days it won't take me long to reset things how I have them) and just put up with the annoyance of all my facebook contacts in my contact list.
     
  9. Barristro

    Barristro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Note: I do not currently use Facebook, so I can only guess at the problem.

    Is it possible to set up a different folder/group so that you don't have to scroll through those extra 200 people? I know it isn't a solution, but it might be a decent work around.





    Dear Motorola and Google;
    Please pay attention. We do not like how your contact list works. We want to be able to sort by last name (we are business men, not 14 year-old girls who list everyone by nicknames). We want to be able to have contact lists without 1,000 people. Having a search function is NOT a solution to your outdated design.
     
  10. crankyg

    crankyg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  11. Barristro

    Barristro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My problem is that I don't like having to search for contacts. I agree that typing in (part of) a name is a working solution. But, I am used to scrolling by last name. I can do that much faster than I can open up the keyboard and type in a few letters.
     
  12. crankyg

    crankyg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree ! I did hear of an app to download, where you can touch and write the "letter" on the screen to search , instead of sliding open the keyboard.

    Technology = phewy !
     
Search tags for this page

facebook sync data only about friends already in contacts do