Droid 2 / Droid 1 Question/Help!

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by HorsePony, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. HorsePony
    Offline

    HorsePony Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Hey everyone, I could use some quick help, if possible.

    My fiance has a Droid 2 Global.
    I used to have a Droid 1 (moved on to Bionic).
    I kept my Droid 1 (currently rooted, but completely unused, fully charged).

    Her Droid 2 screen has completely gone caput. Blank, won't turn on. She doesn't have insurance on her phone.
    She thought she could use her Droid 2 SIM in my Droid 1 and it would be a seamless transition. I have never done this before. Would this be correct?
    I have to ask because she's at work downtown where she could take her phone into Verizon...but she can wait until she gets home and switch phones with my old one...if it works. As I don't have my Droid 1 with me now, I can't look inside and don't remember much about its guts.

    Can this work? What's involved if it can? Just a matter of switching SIMs?

    Any help would be appreciated, and thank you!
  2. Dave Lister
    Offline

    Dave Lister New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Droid 1 does not use a SIM card, and the SIM in the Droid 2 Global is only for GSM use outside the US. To transfer the service to the Droid 1 is fairly easy though. Simply turn off the Droid 2, and on the Droid 1 dial *228. When prompted, hit 1 on the dial pad to program the phone, enter her phone #, and then the last 4 of the account holder's SSN (or the account password if there is one). After a minute or 2 her # should then be active on the Droid 1.
  3. HorsePony
    Offline

    HorsePony Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Wow, really? I've never heard of this process.
    To clarify, this process will work on a rooted D1?
  4. zomnomnombie
    Online

    zomnomnombie Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    36
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Yes it will.
  5. HorsePony
    Offline

    HorsePony Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    LOL....all for naught....ends up she went to Verizon's store...they're giving her a free upgrade to a new phone (they had no more Droid 2's), it doesn't affect her data plan, can still upgrade on her regular upgrade date middle of next year. She's walking out with a Droid Razr Maxx right now. LOL

    Thanks for all the effort though, guys.
Search tags for this page

will a used motorola droid 2 work with my old motorola droid