Droid 2 Continuously Resetting?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by stacialee, Oct 22, 2011.

  1. stacialee
    Offline

    stacialee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried calling Verizon about my Droid 2 resetting almost nonstop. I can't make it through a phone call or browse the web or anything without it resetting. I had had my first one for less than a year when it started acting up. Verizon tried sending me a replacement but it did the same thing. Now I'm on my third Droid 2 in less than a year and it's resetting on its own also. I haven't downloaded any apps on this newest replacement so I don't know what's causing it. Could it be my battery or SD card? I'm just at a loss and I really don't want to get a new phone already when I haven't had this for that long...Please help!
  2. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,783
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    That is really odd, especially if you're already on your 3rd replacement. You could very well be the luckiest person in the world to get 3 in a row like this, go out and get a lotto ticket!

    Seriously though, what I would do is probably factory reset one more time and don't install any apps. I think it might be possible, but you might be able to sign into a gmail account even later and not at the initial setup. Go a couple hours with the phone like this and make a couple phone calls or browse the net. If it still restarts on its own at this point I am at a loss.

    I doubt it affects it, but take out your SD card and put your files on the computer. Wipe the SD card and put it back in and try it on the phone for a couple hours.
  3. stacialee
    Offline

    stacialee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if I'd call it luck haha but I'll definitely try your suggestion! Thank you!
  4. dezymond
    Offline

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,783
    Likes Received:
    575
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Yeah if it doesn't work I would personally go back to Verizon and kindly ask for a new model phone. Obviously you've had quite a run with D2s and I'm sure they'll gladly let you change models to keep you as a happy customer. I've heard stories of some people only trading in twice and getting new phones already.
  5. googlelover
    Offline

    googlelover New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I think you have to go through 3-5 of the same models for them to even consider giving you a different model, and what do you mean by resetting? Do you mean restarting? or erasing everything? Or something else entirely?
  6. stacialee
    Offline

    stacialee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's continuously restarting. Going through the M logo then the droid light flashing screen.
  7. googlelover
    Offline

    googlelover New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Well, call Verizon and tell them, ask them about a new model and see if they can do anything.
  8. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    Have you tried a factory reset via Recovery?

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
  9. stacialee
    Offline

    stacialee New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried both factory resets and calling Verizon. Verizon's solution so far has been to send me a replacement phone.
  10. UrbanBounca
    Offline

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,277
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Virginia
    The flux capacitor was probably full, causing the jigawatt meter to read an incorrect cyphon number.

    It other words, calling VZW was your best option.

    Sent from my DROID2 using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

droid 2 global continuous restart