Droid 2 boot animation question?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by Droid101, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. Droid101

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +1
  2. sjkellyfetti

    sjkellyfetti New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Albany, NY USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just followed Droid-Life's rooted instructions (I am running Sapphire 1.0.0) because I don't care for the Sapphire animation much. I copied the whole bootanimation.zip file to /data/local using Android Mate (Free), and when I rebooted I got the Droid2 boot animation. I then deleted the file from there and rebooted and it went back to using the standard Sapphire boot animation. Not sure if it will revert the same if you are doing it on a Stock Droid, using the SDK (or whatever the other instructions are), but it seems that the location I put it in is an override of the standard animation. Do it up!

    ~ Skells
     
  3. ukyfan

    ukyfan Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    The Heart of Big Blue Country
    Ratings:
    +48
    Is there a video showing the animation?
     
  4. Droid101

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +1
    I cant seem to get it working I go to android mate and Copy the file then go to /data/local and hit paste it says it was successfully done but never shows up under /data/local nor does it boot the animation. Any ideas?

    There is a video of it on droid life somewhere but you could probably also find it on youtube.
     
  5. jev

    jev Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Clemmons, NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    I put them into system/media, overwriting the existing file. Never tried it the way its posted here. Works like a charm for me
     
  6. sjkellyfetti

    sjkellyfetti New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Albany, NY USA
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Droid101

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tried to copy it to that location with no luck either. Not sure why it isnt working either way.
     
  8. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,397
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    it's not copying over to data/local

    I don't use Android Mate so I really can't help you other than stating the obvious that it's not copying over. Why? I don't know....

    You don't want to get Root Explorer? Root Explorer will definitely copy it over.
     
  9. Droid101

    Droid101 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New York State
    Ratings:
    +1
    Eh its more or less I don't want to spend the 4 dollars lol:)
     
  10. sjkellyfetti

    sjkellyfetti New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Albany, NY USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is why I used Android Mate myself - I wanted the free option. Bear with me and I will ask you some silly questions here... you are rooted? What ROM? When you ran Android Mate and used the file explorer, did it ask for SU permissions and did you allow it?

    ~Skells
     
  11. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Try using Terminal Emulator... make sure the custom bootanimation.zip is on the root directory of your SDCard, then type the below exactly in Terminal Emulator, and then simply reboot.

    su
    cp sdcard/bootanimation.zip /data/local/bootanimation.zip

    reboot
     
  12. luv2golf

    luv2golf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    long time lurker, 1st time poster. I am rooted running sapphire 1.0. I like the droid 2 animation but unable to run it. I got root explorer and copied from s/d and pasted to data/local, rebooted but still no animation. I also tried the Terminal Emulator process w/no luck. plz help.