Droid 2.2 Froyo Freezes Constantly After 2 Weeks!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Kvalte, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I had the 2.2 leak with the 800mhz kernel. Everything has been working fine for 2 weeks and now it is freezing all of the time. I had to take the battery out every minute for almost an hour. I went to a backup of the earliest time i had 2.2 and it still was freezing constantly.
    I then backed up to Sholes Mod then Updated to DroidMod1.0. Everything was working fine with that. I then flashed clockwork and downloaded Bugless Beast v.02 and thought everything would be okay and its just as bad.
    What gives? It worked perfectly and now no 2.2s work on my phone:/
  2. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Have you downloaded and new or updated any apps lately?
  3. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah i did. I was actually downloading a file from AndTorrent app when it started to happen but I deleted it and i still the problem. I thought a wipe and recover would help but obviously not.
  4. jaed569
    Offline

    jaed569 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you wiping your data and cache before you are installing the ROMs? This is a common mistake but makes a big difference. Especially with this experimental ROMs, it is really important to remember to do that.

    Let me know if you don't know how
  5. Johnly
    Offline

    Johnly Guest

    I heard the latest base-band release was causing some people grief, but when the went to the first release, it ran fine.
  6. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have just been doing the factory reset. I just wiped the cache which I actualy havent done. Ill see how it runs.

    I have the latest baseband. I thought it has been great but it just happened randomly today after about since it came out. These problems are strange haha. Do you have a link for the baseband under the newest one?

    THanks for the tips guys.
  7. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gahh its still not working. now it freezes at the google sign in page and gets extremely hot.
  8. Johnly
    Offline

    Johnly Guest

    It is the first baseband froyo that is helping some:) If your phone isn't taking the new software (some people aren't having luck) go back to something stable for now. There is a TON of awesome 2.1 ROMdiculous goodness;)
  9. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anyone think that theres maybe some file in the root that happened to get messed up? I didnt do anything unusual today it was working perfect. Perhaps theres something in the root that got left behind from something thats interfering? i dont know just a thought.
    Just want to see what you guys think because I dont understand how this happened so randomly and froyo leak 1, 2 , and both bugless beasts dont work.
    thankss


    EDIT 6/17
    So everything was working last nightand it froze this morning. I went back to droidmod1 and still freezing. I noticed that it was checking for SD card errors forever. My phone worked fine without the card and with my friends. I can still see my nandroid backups so recovery still so I'm hoping I can mount to the PC using sprecovery, grab my files and thenformat on the PC after work.
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2010
  10. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine is doing the same thing. I will try the sd card trick.
  11. Kvalte
    Offline

    Kvalte New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It worked for me! So hopefully it works for you too. I mounted my phone to a pc with SP Recovery and i was able to take all of my files and put them on the pc. I then right clicked the mounted card and hit format. It was taking forever so i hit cancel...dunno if you should do that. But then i loaded it back up in my phone and rebooted and it said "Blank SD Card." I went in the settings on the Droid and hit format and that was it. Formatted in a matter of seconds and havent had a problem all day.
  12. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am trying it now.
  13. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So far so good. I am amazed at how much junk was on my SD card.
  14. gszeman
    Offline

    gszeman New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    It sounds like it's a bad file on your sdcard. I would copy your sdcard to your pc and do a wipe of data, cache, boot and system. Then format your sdcard. Install a fresh ROM and see how it goes. Then you can add back only the files you need (music, pics, backups) from the files you copied over to your pc.

    Good luck.
  15. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking good so far today.
  16. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Started going crazy again today. I am formating the sdcard again.
  17. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Went back to stock and still had issues. So far looks like Advanced Task Killer is solving my problems. The verizon guy suggested it, I never needed it before, but the phone has been behaving, since I installed it.
  18. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Task killer has not fixed anything. Went to VZW store today, and they are shipping me a new phone. She said because the screen his heat sensitive it may act like someone is touching it when no one is. I am not sure about the logic, but I am looking forward to a new phone.
  19. Unpopularpizza
    Offline

    Unpopularpizza New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    did the new phone solve your problem, i noticed my phone keeps freezing only if i have the sd card in it, tried formatting on phone and pc, but as long as i have all my music and pics on it it freezes, when its blank it doesnt freeze, vzw sent me a new phone but it did the same thing too.
  20. workinhd
    Offline

    workinhd New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes new phone solved the problems. You can try to clean your screen with cleaner since they told me the problem was oil build up causing the heat sensitive screen to freak out.
Search tags for this page

android 2.2 freezes

,
android froyo always freezes