Droid 2.2 Decide My "SetCPU" Configuration - Lots of Pictures

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by M3-ADDICT, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings Guys,

    I just finally pulled the plog and followed ( http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...royo-step-step-installation-2.html#post528613 ) and got the 2.2. I didn't have SetCPU, so I downloaded and now I'm totally confused on how to set this. I've taken pictures for you guys, to see. I hope you can tell me what to set each item too. Below is little about my use, and what I'd like to get from the phone.

    Phone Use:
    I do quite bit of text, a few calls, no E-mail, and Web-Browsing is to minimum. What I like is, not a jittery OS use. I want everything to be fast and efficient. On the other hand, I don't want to over clock too much and use lose good battery life. My phone is brand new and on the 2.1, I had to charge every 24 hours. I'd like something like that, give or take a few hours. My 2.1 seemed to be extremely fast.

    You be the decider for my SetCPU, Thanks:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. nateccnn

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    To start...Click the Settings button and chose detect device. Select auto detect. Then click "Set on Boot" and slide that top bar over to the right. I seem to get good results from 800mhz. You play with settings until you find one that works and get on with life from there.

    Nate
     
  3. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How about the Profiles? Those are all off, do I have to set those individually and if so, what are the best recommended setting for my use?
     
  4. hahn

    hahn New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would just make sure that the failsafe profile sets it back to 600 or 500 when its temp rises too much. Other than that it is all about how you use it. Does it do stuff on standby? If yes make it higher, if no, make it lower to reduce power consumption. Do you use it when charging? If yes make it really high, if no, let it sleep peacefully .... so forth.
     
  5. jlaidlaw

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    You finally made the switch? :)

    You don't need to have profiles set unless you want to run lower clock speeds as your battery level goes down. If you do want to set them you can get lower the clock speed one slot every time your battery drops 25% if you want. You can also just set your settings so that you have the same Max/min clock speed all the time. You don't really need to overclock since your not doing CPU intensive stuff.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  6. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol, are you proud? I clicked the Enabled Data, waiting for my plan to replenish and see if it actually works.

    Ok on to the SetCPU. So for normal day to day use, is it good to leave it at Max 550000 and Min 125000 and just click the Set on Boot? I have already done the Automatic Detect as well.
     
  7. jlaidlaw

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    No its just a whole different Droid with root vs stock unrooted Droid. You should check out themes for froyo and see if any catch your eye. Yeah 550 MHz is good, just like a stock Droid. You shouldn't see any performance decreases, hopefully you will see increase in performance from 2.1 to 2.2.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  8. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Didn't quite understand the bolded areal. Could you elaborate. Where do I find such themes?
     
  9. jlaidlaw

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I mean by a different Droid is you can easily customize your Droid to what you like. For example there are many roms that have different themes installedon them. Instead of the vanilla notification bar you can have black, pink, blue, or whatever color you choose. You can have customized icons, keyboard, and much more. You can find themes in Droid themes sub forum on Droidforums. You can find customized roms in custom roms sub forum. I would check out kangerade by jrummy, in the jrummy forum of custom roms,as it has 3-4 different colored themes.

    Sent from my Droid
     
  10. jbg25

    jbg25 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    M3

    SetCPU helps you manipulate the speed of your phone based on its kernel. The stock phone runs no higher than 550Mhz...but I know many people that have run their droids as fast as 1250Mhz (or 1.25 Ghz). My phone cant handle the 1250Mhz kernel...and I still saw some strange behavior with the 1200Mhz. But the 1100 MHz worked great for me.

    Since going to Froyo, I have tried something new. With all the ne JIT processing and the speed increase from that. I am underclocking. I still get the battery life of 2.1 but the speed increase from Froyo.

    as for themes for the droid, there is a whole section for that and there is some great stuff...including the option to customize yourself. I like to edit my live wallpapers and use nextheme on my phone...has a whole different look than a stock droid as you can see in my sig below.
     
  11. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm, looks like I didn't really even need this SetCPU, I just followed the Step by Step instructions so that's why I paid. I just don't want to over work the phone, I tend to keep my phone for a while. I also don't want it to be slow, and it would be piss me off. I thought this is what this app does.
     
  12. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I keep mine this way so it doesn't over heat or lower the CPU's life span.(70s at 5:30AM, 80s by 10AM, 90+ by12PM)
    It's in the high 80s now at 9:18PM and will be that way past 12AM.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2010
  13. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did mine exactly like yours. How do you like this setting?
     
  14. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Never ran into any problems with it this way.
    It's still a lot faster than 2.1.
     
  15. M3-ADDICT

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good, hopefully it's the same way for me. How's your charge like? Once every 24 hours?
     
Search tags for this page
setcpu best configuration
,

setcpu configuration