1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid 1, unusual (brick?) issue.

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by OrangeDoorhinge, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. OrangeDoorhinge
    Offline

    OrangeDoorhinge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, I've had my Motodroid since last December, and I've been rooted since April. The first custom ROM I used was Kangerade 4.7, then I switched to BBB and finally Simply Stunning's 2.2 (1ghz kernel), which is where I've been since it was released. I've used this thing heavily, with USBwebcam, emulators, calling 2-4 hours a day, etc.

    So last night, I put it on my wall charger. It was fine. I wake up, see my LED blinking green, and try to turn the screen on. The backlight turns on but the screen remains black/gray. It doesn't respond to touch. My alarm went off (kind of, it beeped and vibrated on/off twice and then just kept vibrating for 5 seconds) and my notification tone played when I received another text. Removing battery is the only way I can turn it off, and when it turn on there's no M or boot animation. I haven't done anything that would damage the screen, it's never been dropped or wet. I was using a task killer really frequently, which is a terrible idea as I now know. RSD Lite doesn't seem to be working for me (I have Vista 32bit but there isn't a "run as admin" option when I right-click the icon).

    Is it bricked? What can I do? Will the VZ insurance policy that I bought replace it?

    While I wait for replies, I'm going to try to do a blind (screenless, since everything internally seems to be running fine) factory reset. Thanks in advance for any help/wisdom.

    EDIT: That didn't work, so I'm out of ideas.
  2. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    I have 32 bit Vista, and RSD works fine for me. Try holding shift and right clicking RSD and choose, "run as..."
  3. OrangeDoorhinge
    Offline

    OrangeDoorhinge New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All I see as far as running options is "Open".

    Going to reboot and try again. I shouldn't need my Droid screen to fix it with RSD, right?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    OK let's get it straightened out for you by helping you fix it. We will not discuss insurance fraud in this thread, I hope I'm clear about that.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Thread moved to a more appropriate area for assistance.
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Yes, RSD will work with a non functioning screen. As long as the rest of the the phone works.
  7. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I hate not getting more information to help these people!
  8. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I'm going to guess either the phone was repaired or returned to Verizon.
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I know. But I need closure haha.
  10. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    That, my friend, is the closure. No more questions=problem solved 90% of the time. I've been like you, but learned that this is the nature of the beast . . . . Just be happy with the other 10% who do come back and say dancedroidthat fixed it!