Droid 1 sometimes forgets my custom ring tones.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by AirForceAngler, May 9, 2011.

  1. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Ringdroid to create them but set them to contacts using the system. Phone is rooted running CM 7 but it has done this since before I rooted. Any ideas?
    Sent by my thumb.
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Never used ringdriod, but if it saves the ringtones to the sd you can move or copy/paste them to your system. You just need a file explorer. Find them on the sd, then move or copy them to system/media/audio. Once you're there select the folder, notifications or ringtones. Change it from r/o to r/w, then paste. Then reboot.

    This "locks" those to your system. Then go to the app, like phone, mms, email, GTalk etc., and select your new notification sounds. Actually, after you do this, you don't need a ringtone application for your notification sounds. You can load multiple sounds or any ones you can get your hands on. Works with mp3's too. Your just limited by the space available.


    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
  3. Brian1
    Offline

    Brian1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was wonder this myself. Currently got them on the sd card on my D2G but if they start becoming and issue will move them over to the /system locations. I figure if i had it plugged into the laptop and mounted as USB then the ringtone may not work. Just a guess on that one. Also just got the D2G Saturday so getting use to it from the droid 1 I had before. But got the new D2G close to what i had but way faster. I am loving this phone and been using the keyboard more versus the flat one on the Droid 1. Never could get use it but the D2G is awesome. Brian Brian
  4. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been trying this, how do I change the destination folder in the system to r/w? Thanks!
  5. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Which file explorer are you using? I use Root Explorer and the R/W button is located at the top.
  6. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now I am trying Astro and AndroZip. Doesn't look like there's a way to change permissions with these 2.
  7. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Its been a while since I've used Astro, so I downloaded it and couldnt find that option either. Tried with another free one and couldnt figure that out either. I deleted the file manager that comes with CyanogenMod so I'm not sure if that works, or if your still on that rom. Theres gotta be a way to do it without buying an app. I've gotta go wrench on a mower now, if I figure it out later I'll post back.
  8. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, i'll keep trying also. I tried the CM manager also and didn't see anything in there.
  9. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    ES File Explorer. Its free. You just need to set it up. Hit the Menu button, then Settings, scroll to the bottom and select Root Options, the select the first option Root Explorer, hit Yes, select Cyanogen Mod, then OK. Then select the 2nd option. Then you're ready to copy and paste.
  10. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That worked! Thanks much! I'm guessing that after I copy the files, I should change the folder permissions back to r/o?

    Now hopefully my phone won't forget what custom ringtones are suppose to go with what contact!
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  11. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    You can, but dont think it will hurt if you dont. I leave that on in the Root Explorer app sometimes and it never hurt anything. But its always better safe than sorry.
  12. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, we'll see how that works. I actually CUT and pasted the songs into the system/media/ringtones folder. One thing I found out is after doing that I had to reboot in order to see the ringtones in the drop down list after that. After just copying and pasting, it was still pulling from the sd card I think because a call came in and used the default tone instead of the custom. We'll see what happens now that I cut and pasted instead. Thanks again for the help! Hope this works.
  13. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, all of these steps didn't work. My wife just called me and I have a special ring tone for her and the default one rang instead. Must be something goofy with my phone or the contacts program. Using the stock contacts program whatever that is.
  14. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    For some reason I didn't get the notification when you posted. I've had that happen and had to go back and reset them. But I don't use individual ringtones, so I really can't say what went wrong.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
  15. AirForceAngler
    Offline

    AirForceAngler New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CJM, It's weird I know, but thanks for the help!
  16. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,344
    Likes Received:
    540
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Usually happens right after flashing a rom, to me. Even though they are in the right place.

    But I don't know why I didn't get the notification. Been happening lately for some reason. Even if I don't know I'll still reply. I don't like to ignore people.

    Sent by the Unbrickable DROID
Search tags for this page
android custom ringtones forgot
,

android forget ringtone

,
android forgets mp3 ringtones
,
android forgets my ringtone
,
android forgets notification sound
,

android forgets ringtone

,
custom ringback tones for android
,
cyanogenmod razr forgets ringtone
,
droid 2, custom ringer
,
droid razr forgets personal ringtones
,
galaxy s3 forget ringtones
,
htc rezound forgets to ring
,
miã©rt felejti el a csengohangot az android
,
s3 forgets ringtone
,
why bionic forget ringtone