Droid 1 slowing to an almost halt, any help?

Discussion in 'Cyanogenmod' started by dbmorris, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. dbmorris
    Offline

    dbmorris Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Droid (see specs at bottom) will start to slow down, become unresponsive with slow screen refreshes, locks etc. To the point the phone is more trouble than its worth. Sounds stupid but it feels like using a computer with 1/3 the memory that it needs to run. Any apps available that would allow me to see available/used memory of apps in use? Just seems like one app is hanging on and dragging it to the ground. Tried deleting a few but that could take forever and show nothing. Tried a task and memory manager (yes I know, no comments pls) but also no help. Seems to work ok for a little while, measured in hours, right after a new ROM install but then starts to drag. Charged battery, dead battery, no difference, just slow and draggy!

    Rooted D1 running at 800mhz, now running CM7.0.0 RC2. Was running CM6. Complete wipe at new ROM installs. About half (internal) memory used with apps, not much on SD. Did move several over to SD card to free internal mem but no help.

    Thanks for any help,
    Danny
  2. Skull One
    Offline

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Please download OSMonitor from the market. Tell it to sort by Load and that should show you what app is eating the CPU.
  3. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I really like Skull's advice. In fact I'm installing it myself right now.

    I also highly recommend rebooting your phone every day or so as a preventative measure. My phone loves it.

    Good luck.
  4. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Great app Skull !! I love being able to see what's going on. Of course, my phone is running perfect and luckily I've got no rouge apps, so it showed nothing going on right now!! :) But it should be a terrific diagnostic app.
  5. joeyx2
    Offline

    joeyx2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  6. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    Oh? What color are they, then? ;)
  7. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well, I am from Baton Rouge!! What would expect to get when I try to type "Rogue"!!?? :):)
  8. phreek
    Offline

    phreek Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    when mine slows, down I usually boot into recovery and clear out the cache, usually starts running like a champ again.
  9. swikk
    Offline

    swikk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you using compcache?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. jeffv2
    Offline

    jeffv2 Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    south jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well simply the fact that you have half the phone filled with apps could be the problem. Have you tired not restoring your apps?

    And I don't suggest using compcache if you're already having speed issues. That would just make the problem more evident.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  11. msg04
    Offline

    msg04 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had issues with stock kernel and Pete's 1ghz kernel...but Chevy's lv 1ghz kernel is making my phone fly!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  12. swikk
    Offline

    swikk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you're using compcache and the system gets laggy, run the the following script in the terminal:

    su
    compache stop
    handle_compcache

    This resets compcache...
    I use scripter and run this every now and then

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  13. banderbe
    Offline

    banderbe Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lock home app in memory.

    My droid flies on cm 7

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  14. swikk
    Offline

    swikk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    That too, and keep the number of Widgets down

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  15. droidlady05
    Offline

    droidlady05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Somewhere Over the Rainbow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bayouflyfisher is right! Skull One this is a great app!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

droid 1 slowing down

,
moto droid slowing down over time