Droid 1 root using a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by musicman, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to find the easiest way to root my droid 1 running 2.2.1 using a mac. The only thing I found said I had to install ubunto on my mac and run it from that. If that is the only way then so be it, but if there is a simpler way please let me know. All help is much appreciated.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    That's the only way I'm aware of.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Isn't Ubunto a virtual machine? If so, I tried using windows VMware on my Mac and I could not download and use RSDlite.
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    There's a tutorial over at android.net hook.

    Working by installing Ubuntu.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  5. jenna728
    Offline

    jenna728 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To my understanding that doesn't work with droid 1 on 2.2.1. Is that right?
  7. jenna728
    Offline

    jenna728 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should work, never had any problems.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Afaik z4root does not work on 2.2+.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
Search tags for this page

root droid 1 on mac