1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid 1 root using a Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by musicman, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to find the easiest way to root my droid 1 running 2.2.1 using a mac. The only thing I found said I had to install ubunto on my mac and run it from that. If that is the only way then so be it, but if there is a simpler way please let me know. All help is much appreciated.
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    That's the only way I'm aware of.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Isn't Ubunto a virtual machine? If so, I tried using windows VMware on my Mac and I could not download and use RSDlite.
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    There's a tutorial over at android.net hook.

    Working by installing Ubuntu.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
  5. jenna728
    Offline

    jenna728 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. musicman
    Offline

    musicman New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    To my understanding that doesn't work with droid 1 on 2.2.1. Is that right?
  7. jenna728
    Offline

    jenna728 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should work, never had any problems.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  8. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Afaik z4root does not work on 2.2+.

    Sent from my GimpDroid (Installed by RZR).
Search tags for this page

root droid 1 on mac