Droid 1 problems

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by xrob513z, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. xrob513z
    Offline

    xrob513z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    So i have a Moto Droid (A855) with some problems. When trying to press something on the screen, it will only work about a quarter of the time. Sometimes I cant even unlock it. I have tried rooting it, and throwing a different ROM (the Apex v6 I believe) and it didnt help. Anyone know what could fix it, or is it just done for?
     
  2. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Sounds like the screen or the digitizer is at fault here.

    You can replace both if you are handy, and don't mind potentially breaking something. o_O
     
  3. xrob513z
    Offline

    xrob513z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not that handy, at least with small parts like it will be, but I'm not worried at all about breaking anything so I may give it a shot. I'm sure there's videos on YouTube explaining what to do. Just wasn't sure if it was a software issue I could fix without doing all that.
     
  4. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    If you've rooted and changed roms and all, I'm fairly certain its hardware failure.
     
  5. juv3
    Offline

    juv3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hardware failure! I had my 1st droid doing the same thing... If u have insurance u have to flash it with RSD lite back to stock and take it to ur provider so they can get u a new one

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  6. juv3
    Offline

    juv3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh and the good news is that they'll send u the droid 2 global... But u have to be under the one year warranty tho... If not i would report it lost not stolen so they cand send u it... U pay a difference tho

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  7. xrob513z
    Offline

    xrob513z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea its actually not a phone I could claim on insurance or warranty. I work at a Verizon store and a customer upgraded to a 4G phone and left that there. So I figured why not try and fix it if it was possible.
     
  8. jbwiden
    Offline

    jbwiden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the plastic removed from the back of the screen? If so, any metal showing on the back where the screen slides on it?
     
  9. dmg
    Offline

    dmg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    My droid 1 has the exact same issue and i can't seem to find a solution, if you find one would you mind sharing with me?