Droid 1 OTA baseband update.zip(No reactivated)

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dmartins, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 1 OTA baseband update.zip(No reactivation)


    The install takes 45 sec to 1 min.


    I took the baseband from the OTA and created an update.zip from it.
    You do not reactivate(Do not use *228 option 1 or *22899) your phone after it's installed.(as long as your phone was already activated)
    I installed this over the baseband from 2.1-update1(C_01.3E.03P)
    Updates to C_01.43.01P
    Tested with SPRecovery with Froyo 2.2 FRG22.

    Incoming/outgoing calls and 3g(Data) worked without reactivating my Droid.
    You can still update the PRL(AKA Roaming Capabilities)(*228 option 2 or *22891)
    My current PRL Version is 51926

    Update: been using the new baseband for 17h 27m and only at 70% battery usage.(P3Droid SV 2.2 Low = 125MHz Kernel Max at 550MHz)

    Installation Instructions (Using SPRecovery):

    1. Download baseband-update.zip
    2. Locate baseband-update.zip and Rename file to update.(if extensions are shown don't remove the .zip)
    3. Mount your Droid and copy the file that you just renamed to update to the SD card.(Should look like H:\update)
    4. Unmount your Droid from Windows and turn off USB Mass Storage
    5. Turn off phone and turn on while holding x.(hold x before and after turning on the phone)
    6. Select install
    7. Select Allow update.zip Installation
    8. Select Install /sdcard/update.zip (deprecated) and wait for it to complete without errors.
    9. It should say install from sdcard complete(ignore the progress bar)
    10. Now return to the main menu and select reboot system now
    11. Open Settings and click About phone
    12. Scroll to baseband version to verify it's C_01.43.01P
    13. optional: Dial *22891 To update your roaming capabilities
    Installation Instructions (Using ClockworkMod Recovery):

    1. Download baseband-update.zip
    2. Mount your Droid and copy the file to the SD card.(Should look like H:\baseband-update)
    3. Boot into recovery mode
    4. Choose and install baseband-update.zip (Do not wipe data & cache!)
    5. Reboot your Droid
    6. Open Settings and click About phone
    7. Scroll to baseband version to verify it's C_01.43.01P
    8. optional: Dial *22891 To update your roaming capabilities
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2010
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    bump - thanks for this
     
  3. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem.
    I rooted awhile ago but didn't want any problems with reactivating my phone.
    I'm sure Verizon knows what's going on if you reactivate your phone.
    Was thinking I would have to go back to stock just to do this.
    I decided to try and make my own update.zip for it from the OTA since it doesn't require you to reactivate your phone.
    I was using the baseband from 2.1-update1(C_01.3E.03P) before updating with this update.zip
    I haven't had any problems at all with it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  4. drFUNK

    drFUNK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this. I'm downloading and trying now.
     
  5. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Remember, Verizon may push out a new baseband for reasons OTHER than making things better for YOU, just like the PRL may be better for THEM and not for you. (For example, they may prefer a weaker tower that costs them less...)

    Let's get scientific about this. The following measurements were done by Connection Status. The phone was never moved. To apply the update.zip the phone was held in place to prevent movement. The times are close to ensure that "things that change over time" don't affect it.

    These are NEGATIVE dB measurements. The lower the "number" component, the better. All times Zulu, NTP-synchronized.

    Code:
    C_01.3E.03P
    Time  CDMA RSSI(dBm)   CDMA Ec/Io(dB*10)
    1548z -79              -110
    1549z -79              -105
    1550z -80              -125
    
    C_01.43.01P
    Time  CDMA RSSI(dBm)   CDMA Ec/Io(dB*10)
    1555  -80              -150
    1556  -80              -120
    1557  -80              -120
    
    Returning to C_01.3E.03P [activation required]
    Time  CDMA RSSI(dBm)   CDMA Ec/Io(dB*10)
    1603  -79              -110
    1604  -80              -120
    1605  -80              -125
    
    
    
    E
     
  6. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I haven't gotten to test it that much yet.
    At my desk I normally got 1 to 2 bars with C_01.3E.03P.(normally 1 bar)
    Right now with the same type of weather I have 3 to 4 bars with C_01.43.01P.(-81 to -88)
    It hasn't once dropped to 2 bars.
    Will need to test more places though.
    I'm sure they don't want problems like the iPhone 4G.
     
  7. Serqet

    Serqet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to try this right now myself. Thanks for the upload. I've not run any official program tests, but I can tell you that ever since I've had C_01.3E.03P I can sit here doing nothing and watch the thing go from 4 bars 3G to 1x and 1 bar and anywhere in between at any given time. It's literally all over the place.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  8. Serqet

    Serqet Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, for 30 minutes now I've been watching this phone on this new baseband and I have yet to see it show me anything less than 3G AND at minimum 2 bars (with it being 4 at nearly all times). Good stuff in my opinion! Thanks again! :)
     
  9. C3-PO

    C3-PO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you can do this straight from C_01.3E.03P without installing the one in between first?
     
  10. dmartins

    dmartins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea that's what I did just like the OTA would do.
    I added that into the 1st post since it was in my second post.
     
  11. ghostheel

    ghostheel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for this. Hopefully this works better with my phone than the pre-release C_01.43.01P. I was constantly dropping 3G left and right with it. So far so good right now.
     
  12. xkape

    xkape Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,883
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    OH-IO
    Ratings:
    +37
    Installing that was like pushing the Staples button "That was easy"
     
  13. EmmVeePee

    EmmVeePee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so just because something is objective doesn't make it scientific, let's get that point clear.

    I also enumerated the data and found there to be only a slight improvement with the update, so I updated.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
  14. drFUNK

    drFUNK New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my less than scientific observations, the update made my data transfers much more stable (less pauses/ drops) than C_01.3E.03P on Froyo. Of course, ymmv and this has only been observed on one (my) phone.
     
  15. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    maybe a dumb question, but will this work with a FRG 01b rom??

    EDIT: guess not. i tried to flash, and it said "install aborted"... i don't know if this makes a difference, but i tried to install it thru Clockwork.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2010
Search tags for this page

baseband droid 1

,
baseband droid a855 iusacell
,
baseband-update.zip droid
,
baseband.zip
,
baseband.zip 1555
,
download baseband zips
,
download baseband-update.zip
,
droid baseband update.zip
,

frg droid 2.2

,
t769uvlf4 baseband update.zip