Droid 1 major problem!

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Protocol 7, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. Protocol 7
    Offline

    Protocol 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay Rescue Squad, here's a REAL challenge for you.

    I have a Droid 1 that was originally on CyanogenMod 6 with ClockworkMod. I need to send my phone into warranty, So I used the FRG22D_update.zip (from RS-Files) and installed it as update.zip from ClockworkMod recovery menu.

    -This part is extremely hard to describe, I'm sorry-

    It updated, now when when I boot, I get stuck on the Droid boot logo (Not the M) BUT I can interact with my phone as if it was working.

    For example, I memorized where the unlock slider was, so if I slide on that portion of the screen, it vibrates and clicks as if it was normal. If I hold the power button down, it vibrates like the power menu showed up.

    My recovery menu is broken, all I see the is recovery logo with the triangle with a phone. I cannot do anything else with it.

    Please help guys, and all help is appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Can ou still boot into recovery? If you can try wiping the cache and data.
  3. Protocol 7
    Offline

    Protocol 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As I said, recovery menu shows, but there is no text.
  4. Abe21599
    Offline

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    try letting it sit there without the battery.

    what about the bootloader? can you get into that
  5. Protocol 7
    Offline

    Protocol 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the middle of recording a video, one second, I'm uploading it to my site now.
  6. Protocol 7
    Offline

    Protocol 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, here it is:

    http://96.250.54.193/droid.mov
  7. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Bootloader, RSD flash the 2.01 .sbf and just do the OTA when prompted. Easiest way to get back to stock.
  8. Protocol 7
    Offline

    Protocol 7 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Okay, I booted windows and I ran RSD Lite, used the .sbf file, and it's on 55% now.

    Should I do anything else once this finishes?
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Turn it on and login and wait for the OTA push.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  10. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Exactly. +1.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  11. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Or send it in with 2.01 on it. :icon_ devil: As long as it's stock, just tell them you've refused the updates and did a factory reset to clear your data off it.

    But it's better to wait for the OTA push -- or manually install it.
  12. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Well, the earp just has to chime in. And that said, from watching your video, why do you
    It looks like it's working just fine to me.

    Although it's probably too late, but I saw several things that stood out to me. First was the file and method you used to
    . That file was not the 'master' FRG22D file so that said; if you really need to return the phone, you should have done a format of /system within the (then working) recovery menu system and then applied the 'master' FRG22D file. If done properly, you would have had a totally stock FRG22D phone and you wouldn't have even had to take the video, IMHO.

    But then after looking at your video I also saw another thing glaring at me. You (like me) are not used to the stock recovery system. I personally had to look through my notes to remember how to navigate it; and if I watched you video correctly; so do you.

    With the stock recovery system, the power button does nothing, nor does the camera button. BUT when you press and hold the volume up button and then tap on the camera button, you will be in the stock recovery menu system. Then, using the 'd-pad' (with the keyboard slid out) navigate to 'factory data reset', then press the center 'd-pad' button and I will bet that this will get you at least part ways to your end desired solution.

    good luck

    p.s. I thought you said this was a major challenge . . . . :rofl3: ;)
  13. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Updates dude? Did you get it up and running?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  14. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Protocol logged out seven minutes after reporting 55% flash with RSD Lite. Probably fixed and moving on. The rest of us that posted after that (from Guidot's reply on down) just posted to read our own writing, lol.
  15. UNC
    Offline

    UNC New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Well, I guess that means he got it working. Good job DF! Another user helped.