Droid 1 Lag

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by pchakmak, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. pchakmak

    pchakmak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    When I exit out of the internet and most apps I get a black screen for a few seconds and then my home page has to load. Very choppy. I deleted a few things using ASTRO. I am also using LauncherPro. Not sure if that has anything to do with it. Anything I can do here? I appreciate the help...
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Have you considered trying a cache cleaner? There are two or three (free) in the market. If that does not help try removing the launcher, clean cache, then reinstall the launcher.
     
  3. pchakmak

    pchakmak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cachecleaner or Quick System Info PRO? Which do u use?
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    No particular reason but I chose cache cleaner. From what I've read both work equally well.
     
  5. DF Smod

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,454
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Cache Cleaner for me here

    Sent from my Original Droid using the Exclusive Droid Forums App (Available Free in the Market) :wink:
     
  6. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same problem. Cache Cleaner did not fix the issue.

    Use ADW rather than Launcher Pro (which I was REALLY faithful to--I even bought the Plus version of LP), but install ADW and check "System Persistent" in the ADW Settings.

    * ADW is as customizable as LP.
     
  7. pchakmak

    pchakmak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    I searched ADW and a bunch of different themes came up. Is there a specific name for it??
     
  8. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are correct. I just searched and wow it has become difficult to find.

    I searched ADW Launcher. I then looked for a theme by the actual dev "Anderweb" and once found I opened one of them (in the market) and hit "view more applications" (shows all apps by the dev). And it was like fourth down called ADW.Launchr.
     
  9. Eddog4DROID

    Eddog4DROID Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Ratings:
    +0
    ....OR just search for "ADW Launcher Anderweb" and its like 5th down.
     
  10. pchakmak

    pchakmak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    SO I uninstalled LP and using the regular stock launcher. I'm still lagging. Still Takes a few secs to load apps. I cleared cache and still the same thing. Even if I go with another launcher, I'll prolly still lag right? Anything else I can do?
     
  11. huskerkate

    huskerkate Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,650
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Ratings:
    +10
    are you rooted or stock?? if stock, in LP preferences, go into advanced settings, memory usage settings, memory usage preset, and check light or low.

    if rooted, use this toggle from samsonite801:


    If you use ADW or LauncherPro and if after using your browser, email or any other apps for awhile, then if you press the 'HOME' button, if it takes forever to redraw your home screen, and you are sick of that HORRIBLE LAG, then try this: In a terminal, type su and enter. Then type echo ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1 >> /data/local.prop and enter. Then reboot. Now evaluate whether or not this fixes your lag. If you want to undo what this command does, simply remove that toggle from: /data/local.prop

    To remove the toggle: In Root Explorer, go to /data/, tap Mount R/W at the top, then long-press on local.prop and Open in Text Editor, then delete the line: ro.HOME_APP_ADJ=1.
     
  12. c_hale22

    c_hale22 Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Im getting the same thing happening and its driving me crazy. I have tried all the launchers out there and even changed ROMs, UD, MIUI and still have the same problem. I dont like to do it but I cranked up my cpu settings and just watch my temperature and it helps.
     
Search tags for this page

droid 1 lagging

,
droid lag time