1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Droid 1 freezing randomly- i have factory reset, still persists

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by jonathan13, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid will not boot- blank screen(lit up)

    EDIT #2:
    Nevermind guys, I just dominated the hell out of it.. its destroyed. :) Problem solved


    EDIT: Okay guys, I think the phone is pretty much done for. This is what is going on as of now:

    When I press the power button the screen lights up but nothing shows up (just a blank lit up screen). If I leave it alone it will boot up and the screen will timeout and go completely black. I can press the power button to turn on the screen but all it will do is light up- nothing will actually display. I can tell the phone is still somewhat working though because when i hold down the power button it vibrates like the prompt has come up to ask if you want to put it in airplane mode, shut down, etc. Also the 4 bottom touch buttons also give a vibrate feedback when pressed. Nothing else though- No sound, touch screen not working (As far as I can tell since there is not vibration feedback). It could be on the "activate your droid" screen because I attempted to flash the stock sbf which DID PASS but did not help my issue.

    Any ideas guys? I am about to give up.


    Hey guys, I have something weird going on with my OG droid. It just started this morning. It will just randomly freeze- sticks for about 30 seconds or so. Sometimes I can free it up by pressing the top button to turn off the screen and wait a couple of seconds and light the screen back up and it is unfrozen. This freeze happens most while texting but DOES happen other times as well. It is becoming more and more frequent- almost every time I try to use the phone. It actually froze up before I started posting this and ended up cycling off and back on.

    I have tried a factory reset with no luck. I am not rooted. Only thing else worth mentioning is the battery is junk. It charges up in about an hour or less and then lasts 3 hours or so until it hits 60% and then it drops off and dies in minutes. Could this have anything to do with it?

    I don't understand why this would just start randomly. I haven't done anything different with the phone between yesterday when it was working fine and this morning when I woke up and its going haywire. Who knows... At least I have an upgrade on the 17th of this month.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011
  2. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just froze again while trying to load the marketplace.. it literally sticks and whatever is on the screen stays- It has the little "swirly" loading icon and it is still on the screen but no longer "swirling"...

    I though maybe it was a problem with an app i had downloaded so I deleted all downloaded apps and was heading to the marketplace to re-download some and it freezes again.. jeeze. frustrating.
  3. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    When you go into settings and check Battery Use, what does it show about the main battery consumers?
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    If you've already tried a factory data reset and it still is doing it, the next step would be a hard factory data reset. Make sure you're not running any task killers or antivirus. Do the hard factory reset and slowly start adding your apps back. First two days no apps, and if no issue start adding them. See if you can't find the problem.

    Or it could be that your Droid is just going out on you. Good luck.
  5. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Display is the most at 34%.. then voice calls 17, browser 14, and android system 13, etc.
  6. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After it freezes the next time ill go ahead and do the hard reset. I've noticed if I keep pressing puttons when it freezes instead of turning off the screen whatever am I am in force closes.. it force closed my stock launcher once and then my messaging app.
  7. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it has finally just met its end. It froze again and this time i notice that it had a "colored fuzz" line at the top and bottom of the lock screen while frozen and then it cycled off and back on.. hard reset is coming up. If it doesn't work I need to find another phone to use until my upgrade because I think I might smash this droid with a hammer or something lol. I guess if I don't though I might be able to get a little money out of it for parts.
  8. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i performed a hard reset and have not installed any apps and it was good for about 10 minutes and then froze again until I turned off the screen and let it catch up to itself.

    One thing I did notice- Even after the hard reset there was still some data stored on the phone because when I turned on the Wifi it automatically connected to my password protected home network without me putting in the password.

    If it can save the data that connects it to my Wifi then I would assume it could be saving something that would cause the freezes. Could it be on the memory card possibly? I would not think that Wifi info would be stored on the memory card but that is all I have to go on at the moment unless there is something that I missed and needs to be erased along with a hard reset.
  9. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm assuming the battery is the issue because it hasn't frozen since I tried using it while plugged into the charger or since I have taken it off after a full charge.
  10. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nevermind, false alarm. Still freezing- as of late it has been freezing when I open the keyboard nd switch to landscape view- it stays in portrait and freezes rock solid.

    Any other ideas guys?
  11. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bump.. still doing it this morning :( now its almost always when i slide open the keyboard.
  12. KaosMaster
    Offline

    KaosMaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garden Grove, CA.
    This would be my next step!

    So, What i would do is download the attached Update file. this is verizon's package. Plug your USB cord into the comp and phone with it off.Turn the phone on, wait for it to get to the Home screen. When it pops up the USB screen connect it.

    Now on your computer, copy the update file to the SD card. Rename it to be update.zip if you dont see the .zip part of the filename just change what you see to say update.

    Now turn off the phone. Go into recovery. (Hold the "X" key and push power. From the list use the D-Pad to select Install: update.zip and hit the center button. When it is done select the data/factory reset. Now select reboot phone.

    This should fix your force closes. If not shoot me a PM or contact me on live messenger. I can help ya get this fixed! Already fixed three with this issue! ;)
  13. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I really appreciate the effort and help Kaos Master but unfortunately it has finally officially died... I was reading where other people were having the same issue as me and eventually the phone got to where it wouldnt even boot up and would just hang on a black screen and mine has reached that point as of 30 minutes ago. I also tried plugging it into my PC to see if it would do anything but I have nothing except a black screen...

    I guess its "HAMMER TIME" haha... I would sell it for parts but if it ever started working again it has some of my personal information on it that I cannot delete obviously since it will not boot.... Hmmm.. I might blend it for fun like that crazy guy on youtube.. It would probably break my blender though and then I would have to purchase and new phone and a new blender lol
  14. Ice_Cold
    Offline

    Ice_Cold New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Bad to know mine has been doing this off and on for the past 2 weeks

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  15. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I don't know what to tell you except enjoy the phone while it is still somewhat working.. Mine only lasted two days after it began freezing :( I have an upgrade in exactly one week but I don't know if it is possible to be without a phone that long lol
  16. KaosMaster
    Offline

    KaosMaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garden Grove, CA.
    First things first!!! Can you get into the bootloader mode??

    With the phone off:

    Press and Hold the "UP" key on the D-PAD. (towards the Screen)
    Then push the power button.

    The screen should come up black with white txt. IF you can load into this...I think i can help ya FIX IT!! ;)
  17. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I have tried loading into bootloader by pressing up and power, still boots to black... Also tried x and power... still boots to black.. its getting the hammer treatment soon. lol
  18. KaosMaster
    Offline

    KaosMaster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Garden Grove, CA.
    OK, I hope you enjoyed it while it lasted! If you want i might be interested in getting it from you for parts! Send me a PM!

    ALSO: to everyone else in this thread!

    You may want to think about trying to flash you Droids with a good SBF BEFORE they die!! I believe this is a Corruption of data in the memory chips or a failed Update!

    If you need proceedures or files, PM me!! ;)
  19. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes that very well might be the issue due to the fact this phone had been previously rooted and unrooted several times and had been flashed with several custom roms it definitely could have been a corrupt file within the last stock rom that was flashed to it when it was unrooted.

    you have PM
  20. jonathan13
    Offline

    jonathan13 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bump, new symptoms at top of first post ^^^^^
Search tags for this page
does the android have a reset button
,

droid 1 freezes

,
droid 1 reset button
,

droid one freezing

,
droid one locks up
,
i factory reset my htc incredible and its still freezen up
,
if phone still freezes after a factory reset
,
phone still crashes after hard reset
,
phone still freezing even after factory reset
,
screen still frozen after resetting my motorola droid
,
what to do when a droid 1 freezes