Droid 1 current root method

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by solar, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all! OK, so I used to have a Droid 1, which I have replaced w/ a D2 and have rooted. The method I used to root my D1 is no longer valid after OS updates.

    I would like to be able root my D1 without having to install a pre-rooted custom ROM, since my GF is now using it and I don't want to have to make her reinstal/config everything.

    Does anyone know of a good root method that works since the most recent D1 update? Thanks in advance !:)
     
  2. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +23
  3. mobile_sensei
    Offline

    mobile_sensei Team Liberty Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Land of Liberty
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mobile Sensei,
    thank you for the respone. Just to calify, these are stock roms, rooted, with Busybox, that will replace the current ROM and require all the settings on the phone to be redone correct?

    (the equivelant of using symantec or ghost or something to put a windows image on a PC, right)?
     
  5. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you also CupFull, i'm reading over you links right now....
     
  6. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi CupFull,
    If I skimmed th first article correctly, this method does not overwrite the ROM that exist currently or modifys it? I know sometimes and update.zip method just modifies parts of the OS and other times replaces the current ROM all together.

    Also,
    I posted on the second link at XDA to confirm that this will still work for the D1 after the most recent update. THe las port by the author was in november, so i'm not sure.

    If you alread know the answer, that would be great, otherwise I'll try to find out. I don't mind doing it the long way myself, I just don't want to overwrite the current ROM on the D1.

    thanks guys!;)
     
  7. Droid619
    Offline

    Droid619 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey Solar

    Hey Solar,

    Did you ever find a method that worked? i am in the sme boat as you, so just wondering if you found something that worked?

    Aaron
     
  8. heydockyle
    Offline

    heydockyle New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just rooted my D1 with superoneclick no problem.
     
  9. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Droid6169, I was just going to mention wha heydockyle recommended. though I haven't tried it yet. HEre is a link I have to an article on it:
    [APP]SuperOneClick v1.6.3 (Root, Unroot, Enable Non-Market App, Get UNLOCK code) - xda-developers

    Is this the article you use heydockyle? Or do you have another you can provide for us? Im re-rooting my droid2 after an wipe tonight, but I plan to do the droid1 root this weekend. any info you have to share would be great

    Also, droid619 here is another article I was going to use to root, but the superoneclock method sounds appealing. In any case, here is the link forthat one:
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-labs/74028-root-droid-1-regardless-os-version.html

    I personally can't recommend either one yet since I haven't done it, but heyockly seems to like the superoneclick.
     
  10. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    SuperOneClick onthe XDA site worked great on the droid 1 FRG83D I was using it on. thanks for the heads up on that one.