DRM Notification

Discussion in 'Samsung Fascinate' started by AllForNaught, Jan 26, 2011.

  1. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The long and short: Was taking pictures with my phone. The screen went red, and a "camera failed" message popped up, along with two notifications, listed as DRM notification. Phone froze/locked up, had to remove battery to reboot.

    Has anyone else seen this? Or am I just lucky?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  2. Jamis0n

    Jamis0n Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Pretty lucky in my book. What say you community?

    8pened!
     
  3. Katnipthief

    Katnipthief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    Taking pics of someone ugly? Is says not to in the user manual.

    Sounds like SD card error. Maybe corrupted somehow

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    You understand right that you cannot run DRM music/movies on your Fascinate, correct?
     
  5. Katnipthief

    Katnipthief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0

    This isnt relative to the post... but then its morning, maybe im not awake yet.


    DRM doesnt apply to taking pictures

    My guess was that its trying to store pics to SD card and its either full or cant write. Confuses the phone and gives DRM error.
     
  6. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That isn't the nature of my post - but please elaborate: Files with DRM protection can't be run? Is that what you're saying? I thought all downloaded material (vcast music/video, etc.) has DRM protection.



    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  7. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That sounds reasonable.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Sorry if I went off topic. To be honest I'm not feeling great today, but to get to the point yeah, you can't run files that are DRM protected and no, not all files have it anymore. Apple stopped using it a while back, Amazon MP3 is clear. Movies I don't know much about but my understanding is the same rule applies to them.
     
  9. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's something else: the DRM notifications had black email icons with little white checkmarks. I checked both email accounts thinking I had a message, but there were none.

    It was the strangest glitch I'd ever seen.

    I was actually taking a couple pics (highest res) of my TV screen, with Deadspace 2 running, to send to a friend. Irrelevent, but the phone really freaked out.

    Does anyone know if the phone logs notifications somewhere?

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  10. Katnipthief

    Katnipthief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    He can't take pics. Giving bogus error message. Read the question again. You sound like India support going on about drm

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  11. Katnipthief

    Katnipthief Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Ratings:
    +0
    My full thought of issue. Take pic. It tries to write to mem or SD. It can't. Either full or corrupted file system. Leaning towards corrupt.which would make more sense for it to report a Drm error that has nothing to do with camera. (It might to media player) . But its a write issue to save the picture you took. Try to change your save location to test

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  12. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, yeah, lol!

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  13. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I can take pics. This seems (hopefully) to be a unique occurance.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  14. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm not using the stock Samsung card. It's a class 4 3C pro. I'll try your suggestion - it may indeed be a card issue.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
  15. AllForNaught

    AllForNaught Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]

    For reference this pic is one of the 2 I took when the glitch happened.

    Sent from my SCH-I500 using DroidForums App
     
Search tags for this page
drm errorr 88
,

drm notification

,
drm notification evo
,
htcdrm icon
,
why are the wallpaper drm pictures locked on my cell phone