driod GPS has me at the wrong location

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Sean, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Sean
    Offline

    Sean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any way to fix this? Does anyone else have this issue?
  2. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Hold it at gunpoint and tell them to fix it? Have you tried resetting the phone and then looking at the GPS again?
  3. Vladimir
    Offline

    Vladimir New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes if follow these steps...settings -> location & security turn off "Use wireless networks" this wont triangulate your signal and use GPS makes it more accurate :)
  4. brandyrich
    Offline

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wireless is turned off but the gps is still showing that i am in a different part of the state. I turned on and off the gps as well as rebooting the phone. Any suggestions?
  5. justbob
    Offline

    justbob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GPS is very accurate, so if it has you in another part of the state, and you're absolutely sure you have GPS enabled correctly I would say you have a bad phone.

    The only other explanation is that DoD has re-enabled Selective Availabillity, in which case we're all screwed since the Droid can't do DGPS. :icon_eek:
  6. brandyrich
    Offline

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Based on that article it looks like DGPS would only put you off by feet, I am off by miles. Approx. 3 degrees off actually.
  7. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    by "rebooting the phone" did you turn it off and then back on? if you didnt try a battery pull try - with the phone ON remove the battery wait 30 sec the start up the phone.
  8. brandyrich
    Offline

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried both. I gave up on it last night and tried again this morning. It is finally working again out of nowhere. I didnt change anything this time (not sure what was going on).
  9. justbob
    Offline

    justbob New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just checked mine and it seems accurate enough. It was able to pinpoint my location within about 30 feet or so.
  10. brandyrich
    Offline

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Most of the time mine is as well. I am not sure why it was acting up this time.
  11. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Mine shows my exact location on the map, but the name of the city is wrong. The city name that shows is actually on the other side of the state. I have reported the problem a few times through Google Maps and still haven't heard back from them. It randomly does this, and it's very strange that the actual location is correct with an incorrect city name. Anyone experienced something like this? I'm in NC.
  12. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My GPS isn't picking me up either. Maps has my location as my geo-location for the cell tower. Wonder what's going on.
  13. atlwxman
    Offline

    atlwxman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Working fine for me here in northern Virginia. I am inside my house and my location dot is right on the roof.
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I sent an error report to Google. Hopefully it helps

    edit: I disabled 'use wireless networks' in My Location setting and my gps immediately picked me up. It wasn't working with this enabled however. Odd. But if I try again to locate my GPS location with 'use wireless networks' enabled, it reverts to the same problem. WTF?
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  15. radioz
    Offline

    radioz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    For those that are having trouble with you GPS locations, try installing the app called 'GPS Status' (it's free).

    It turn on your GPS and start the app. It will tell you how many satellites are available and how many it can recieve. Maybe you are in a building that interferes with the signal.

    Try moving outside clear of obstructions to see if your position gets corrected?

    Good luck.
  16. brandyrich
    Offline

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Already have that app. I used it to determine that I was approx. 3 degrees off. It showed that I was connected to at least 4 sats at any given time.
  17. pc.huff
    Offline

    pc.huff New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, mine started messing up today but its a little worse for me.

    I'm in Irving Texas and my GPS says that I'm in Eilendorf Germany!! WTF?!:icon_evil:
  18. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I just signed on to my iGoogle page and gps found me right away, no problems. I also signed on to maps and it pinned my location exactly.

    I also keep cell tower location turned off.
  19. LastBoyScout
    Offline

    LastBoyScout New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    At My House
    With the use wireless network option selected, it shows me as being 1000 feet across the street and in a residential neighborhood.

    With use wireless network option deselected, it pinpoints me exactly where i am. If i use my Garmin GPS Unit side by side, it verifies my position.

    While i tried running around for a while with the wireless network option turned off, apps that use GPS data were slow and at times non-responsive to my request for locating me.

    I guess its a two way street. Fast and Semi-Accurate aGPS + GPS or slower and pin point accurate GPS.

    I just wish there was a way to tell an app which one to use and it not be a system wide decision.
  20. jaste
    Offline

    jaste New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This article may help explain part of the problem:

    The Browser Geolocation Wars: Skyhook’s CEO on Why Google Maps is Misreading Your Location | Xconomy

    So the Driod can geolocate by three methods: tower location, Wifi location databases like Skyhook's, but not Skyhook's, and GPS. I have seen the Droid switch to each of these and it's reflected in the accuracy, tower is in miles, wifi hundreds of feet and GPS tens of feet. I think it works amazingly well, considering.

    There was a guy in another forum who moved and his Droid shows him still at his old address - do ya think he brought his access point to his new address? Don't know how you go about getting that updated.
Search tags for this page
android gps incorrect location
,
android phone has wrong location
,
can facebook gps be wrong
,
facebook gps location wrong
,

gps wrong location android

,
my android gps is wrong
,
my gps location is wrong
,
my phone gps is inaccurate
,

my phone gps is wrong

,
phone gps wrong
,
why is my location wrong on my android phone
,
why is my phone location wrong