driod GPS has me at the wrong location

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Sean, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Sean

    Sean Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way to fix this? Does anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. New2u

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,637
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hold it at gunpoint and tell them to fix it? Have you tried resetting the phone and then looking at the GPS again?
     
  3. Vladimir

    Vladimir Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes if follow these steps...settings -> location & security turn off "Use wireless networks" this wont triangulate your signal and use GPS makes it more accurate :)
     
  4. brandyrich

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wireless is turned off but the gps is still showing that i am in a different part of the state. I turned on and off the gps as well as rebooting the phone. Any suggestions?
     
  5. justbob

    justbob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    GPS is very accurate, so if it has you in another part of the state, and you're absolutely sure you have GPS enabled correctly I would say you have a bad phone.

    The only other explanation is that DoD has re-enabled Selective Availabillity, in which case we're all screwed since the Droid can't do DGPS. :icon_eek:
     
  6. brandyrich

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Based on that article it looks like DGPS would only put you off by feet, I am off by miles. Approx. 3 degrees off actually.
     
  7. Guchi

    Guchi Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    by "rebooting the phone" did you turn it off and then back on? if you didnt try a battery pull try - with the phone ON remove the battery wait 30 sec the start up the phone.
     
  8. brandyrich

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tried both. I gave up on it last night and tried again this morning. It is finally working again out of nowhere. I didnt change anything this time (not sure what was going on).
     
  9. justbob

    justbob Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just checked mine and it seems accurate enough. It was able to pinpoint my location within about 30 feet or so.
     
  10. brandyrich

    brandyrich New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Most of the time mine is as well. I am not sure why it was acting up this time.
     
  11. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mine shows my exact location on the map, but the name of the city is wrong. The city name that shows is actually on the other side of the state. I have reported the problem a few times through Google Maps and still haven't heard back from them. It randomly does this, and it's very strange that the actual location is correct with an incorrect city name. Anyone experienced something like this? I'm in NC.
     
  12. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    My GPS isn't picking me up either. Maps has my location as my geo-location for the cell tower. Wonder what's going on.
     
  13. atlwxman

    atlwxman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Working fine for me here in northern Virginia. I am inside my house and my location dot is right on the roof.
     
  14. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sent an error report to Google. Hopefully it helps

    edit: I disabled 'use wireless networks' in My Location setting and my gps immediately picked me up. It wasn't working with this enabled however. Odd. But if I try again to locate my GPS location with 'use wireless networks' enabled, it reverts to the same problem. WTF?
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2010
  15. radioz

    radioz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Oregon
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those that are having trouble with you GPS locations, try installing the app called 'GPS Status' (it's free).

    It turn on your GPS and start the app. It will tell you how many satellites are available and how many it can recieve. Maybe you are in a building that interferes with the signal.

    Try moving outside clear of obstructions to see if your position gets corrected?

    Good luck.
     
Search tags for this page
android gps incorrect location
,
android phone has wrong location
,
can facebook gps be wrong
,
facebook android wrong location
,

gps wrong location android

,
my android gps is wrong
,
my gps location is wrong
,
my phone gps is inaccurate
,

my phone gps is wrong

,
why is my location wrong on my android phone