Drew Garen issue.

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by u83rmensch, Sep 6, 2011.

  1. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I loaded drew garen gingerbread rom from the clockwork mod application. rebooted into recovery and it appeared to have gone through successfully however it now hangs at boot (shows the) drew garen logo with the joker to right of it .. the logo replacing the Motorola M logo. Its stuck and I cant get it back into the clock work recovery loader or the phone OS. only thing i can pull up is by pressing power and home at the same tried wiping the data cache and wiping data/factory reset.. with other roms that failed I could do this and then reboot into clockwork by pressing the volume down button and power at the same time.. this does not work any longer.

    can any one help me out here.. any ideas maybe?


    just to verify im using droid X and clockwork recovery should be the latest at 4.4.0.6
  2. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Unfortunately to me it sounds like you need to SBF your phone.

    And I am not familiar with the ROM you are referring to but the reason it didnt work may have been because it was not for the Droid X. I would double check it before you attempt to use it again.
  3. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    perhaps. I think i did this awhile back on my original moto droid. this involves using the sdk/adb and loading a rom on it manually no? any good tutorials you could point me towards to get me started,
    its been so long since i did it before..

    think i got it actually..thank you very much.. i forgot about being able to do this.
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2011
  4. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Glad you got it!

    And sorry I had gone to sleep by the time you had posted asking for a link to a good guide.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  5. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried to reload this ***** via the RSD lite. it keeps failing (perhaps the wrong the .sbf file?) but now my phone is saying "battery low, cannot program" I've left it plugged into a wall outlet all night to charge but it still has the same message. any one know how to fix this?



    edit: after a little research it looks like i might have to charge it with another droid phone :( who the hell decided that the charge function should be initiated via software.. I should be able to charge the phone even if its bricked :p
  6. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Very true. It does not charge unfortunately. You will need to charge it externally you are correct as far as that goes.

    Which sbf file are you trying to use? And do you want to be on froyo (.340) or gb (.596 or. 602) when you are done?

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  7. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well.. I've tried a few from this page: https://sites.google.com/site/1kdsdroidx/home

    I'd like to be back on 2.1 or 2.2 then upgrade to a 2.3 custom rom. I dont want the hastle of going to OTA 2.3, then have to downgrade to 2.2.. might as well just drop back to 2.2


    Im using win 7 x64 but it some other research seems to suggest that 64 bit windows seems to fail frequently and that they reccomend using win xp32 or linux.. im lazy and dont feel like trying linux right now (even though i know more about linux then windows :p ) so im gonna try it in a winXp 32 virtual machine. if all else fails I'll load up my linux partition and get back to ya :D
  8. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    I have always done it on win 7 - 64 but who knows. And that link has the OS 2.2.1 I always use (the first one at the top) so its not an issue with the SBF as far as I can tell. It never hurts to verify the md5 to make sure it matches. There is also an SBF for the newest OTA, .602 if you decide to go that route.

    But definitely let me know how you make out. I havent had to trouble shoot much with SBFing but I have done it a number of times.
  9. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah I'll let you know. I wont be able to try till i get home and can use my roommates battery or phone to charge my own battery.. as far as making out though.. if you're a hot chick im totally up for that.. other wise, im flattered but you'll have to learn else where.
  10. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    HAHA I knew I liked something about you. You have the same sense of humor I do :biggrin:

    EDIT: I dont LIKE like you though. Just to be clear...
  11. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    after trying this in win xp.. it seems that part way though.. the phone disconnects its self from teh computer (does not show in the RSD software or the device manager). after unplugging it and plugging it back in (to-from, the phone its self), it shows back up.. I dont know if its supposed to disconnect and reconnect automatically or if its not supposed to disconnect at all..

    status when it disconnects: Phone[0000]: Waiting for re- enumeration.

    It appears to time out and fail the flashing process

    I get the error: Failed flashing process. Phone[0000]; Phone did not re-enumerate (0x703E); phone disconnected (mind you im typing this whole thing out as i go so yeah.. obviously now I can see its disconnecting)


    going to try to simply un plug it and plug it back in when it does that..

    well that seemed successful

    status : ... NOPE

    f-it.. try'n win7 again

    when through full flash.. appears to have flashed .. status is fished and result: pass..

    rebooting phone does nothing.. goes back to bootloader 30.04, remove battery, try again: nope.. same thing :(

    checking info of phone via RSD, still shows N/A for software version under the phone..

    why it no work :(


    ok.. not sure what changed.. i think i may have just mixed up the .sbf roms or somethign.. re downloaded the first link and it went through with out any issues.. not sure what was up with that :p


    back to square one..

    any pretty vanilla gingerbread roms you'd recommend?
  12. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Awesome! Which OS did you end up SBFing to? I can make a recommendation based on that.
  13. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used the first link on that site.

    i tried downloading the liberty tool box pro and installing their gingerbread 9.0 rom..

    it failed :( stuck at boot again and now i cant get it back up.. so I'll be having to swap batteries again tonight, which is harder then it sounds. My room mates is a 21 year old perky young girl and its nearly impossible to pull scrape her eyeballs off her phones screen.. shes constantly using it.

    anyway.. I'll get this ***** up and running.. eventually.
  14. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yeah unfortunately for that rom you needed to be on gb (2.3) already to flash it. The first file got you to froyo (2.2.1). There is quite a learning curve with the dx.

    When you get back up and running just ask in here or pm me and ill help you make sure you can flash whatever it is.

    Sent From the Mind and Fingers of JSM...
  15. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok.. im back up with with stock 2.2.1 not sure wtf happened though.. the Motorola (the red robot eye thing) boot animation was replaced by the liberty eagle animation.. but its says its its build numbers is VZW (assuming its Verizon stock rom) .. my phone does not seem to play nice with this stuff..


    anyway..so you're saying to get liberty gingerbread I have to go up to stock gingerbread? the instructions seemed to imply i need to be on 2.2.1 or 2.1

    any suggestions?
  16. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Liberty ROM replaces the boot animation so that's why it changed from the red droid x eye. Does it still have the liberty animation after performing another SBF? Because it should not, it should have returned to the eye. Did you do the full SBF or the system only?

    And yes for liberty GB you definitely need to be on stock GB, not 2.2.1 or 2.1.
  17. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeah after doing an RSD flash back to 2.2.1 the the white motorola M popped up.. and then the liberty boot animation played.. thought that was weird but it booted up fine with no issues.. right now im letting it charge in case i need to sbf it again but I'll reboot it and see if its still there.. other wise would you reccomend I upgrade to stock to stock gingerbread via sbf or just OTA? if so will z4root still work on gingerbread or do i need to find a new method in which to root my phone?
  18. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Yeah not sure why it would be there. Did you have to go into stock recovery and do a factory reset and cache wipe after the SBF? Normally you have to to get out of the bootloop and this wipes up anything the SBF doesnt.

    Z4 will not work on the most recent OTA. There is a new method out that does root it though, its the D3 one click method. Check it out HERE. I just used it last night after I used the .602 (newest GB) SBF and it worked like a charm. Was real easy too. Not saying you should use it but at least check it out so you know whats out there. Since you are already on a fresh 2.2.1 SBF you could always just use the 2-part prerooted from MyDroidWorld which you just flash from recovery and you would not need to SBF again. But you need to be on stock 2.2.1 to use them.
  19. u83rmensch
    Offline

    u83rmensch New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just installed the OTA 2.3.3 update. still has the liberty boot animation.. lol. it boots fine though.. so thats k. Im gonna try to root via the link you posted.. after i root it, do I still need to use droid 2 boot strapper?


    Edit: just tried installing the liberty gingerbread I had downloaded.. it got to the liberty boot animation and now its just looping.. cant seem to get the clockwork recovery up so i guess I'll just keep flashing this thing till i get it right..
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2011
  20. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,935
    Likes Received:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Sorry for the long delay in response. I was sleeping peacefullly.

    Make sure you check your PMs. I sent you a detailed set of instructions on how to accomplish what you are trying to do, I didnt want to fill up a whole big post here. It is what I would do if I was going to flash Liberty .9. I am not going to be around all day due to being at work. I may be able to randomly answer questions but no guarantee.

    It also might not be a bad idea to double check the Liberty file. Maybe redownload it from your pc and move it to your phone.
Search tags for this page

drewgaren galaxy s3

,

how to uninstall drew garen

,

my droid x is stuck on drew garen boot