Dragging Icons ?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by JWL123, Apr 27, 2010.

  1. JWL123

    JWL123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my Droid yesterday and was playing with it and dragged the google bar to the center of the screen. Now I can't get it back to the top. Any suggestions?
     
  2. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, the "secret" of the Droid! LONG PRESS on the icon until it 'vibrates' and then move it wherever you want to!
     
  3. dlwhtrose

    dlwhtrose Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    God forsaken desert, wishing to be back in Dixie
    Ratings:
    +33
    Since you moved it once I am sure you tried but do a long press and hold then it should start to move. Once my icons are ready to move I get a small vibrate sort of notice. Once you have it moving you should be able to put it anywhere you want even in the trash should you not want it on your screen anymore.
     
  4. JWL123

    JWL123 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I get the vibration but,,,,

    when I then move it back to the top it jumps right back to the center of the screen again. In addition, I dragged two icons from the large screen to what I perceive as the "home screen". When I try to drag them, they vibrate but then jump back to where I first placed them.
     
  5. dylanthecat

    dylanthecat Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    You either have icons at the top of the screen which prevent you from moving it over them, or you are moving it to high. You cant cover the notification bar.
     
  6. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, you might have something in the way. Drag everything from the top of the screen down toward the bottom (or to the left or right screen) and then move the search bar up to the top. Each icon takes up a certain amount of space and some widgets take up a couple of spaces or more. You just have to play around with it until you get it the way you want it to be...

    OR you may not be holding the icon long enough. LONG PRESS until it vibrates and stops, then drag it...
     
  7. StupidGenius

    StupidGenius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    Ratings:
    +51
    Just a suggestion. I and many others here don't use this widget. The far-right soft key on your phone (looks like a magnifying glass) opens the same option with one press and a long press gets you voice search.

    Not showing this widget frees up plenty of screen space. I'd just remove it.

    Just my 2 cents. :)
     
  8. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got rid of mine about the first week I had the Droid, but some people like it... I try to conserve space when I can. If he likes it, let him keep it. ;)
     
  9. StupidGenius

    StupidGenius Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Westchester County, NY
    Ratings:
    +51
    I only made the suggestion since he just purchased the phone and may not be aware of the option. I had mine for a couple of weeks before it dawned on me that I could easily duplicate the functionality without using the screen space. It's certainly his choice, I'm simply giving a friendly suggestion that many here have come to realize. :)
     
  10. AnneDroid

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    I knew what you meant, and didn't mean for my reply to sound (uh) preachy... maybe I need more coffee? :laugh:
     
  11. ziggy523

    ziggy523 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI!! I'm kinda new to the droid (only had it a week now) and I was just reading about the gooble bar so I tried it and removed it but now I have no idea how to get it back on my screen. I did the softkey press but when I exit the bar is still gone. Any help would be wonderful. Thank You :)
     
  12. Big Cam

    Big Cam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Ratings:
    +0
    Long press on an empty space, and select widget, then scroll down untul you see "search" Select it and your in business. Remember the search bar needs 4 open slots all next to each other horizontally. This is also how you can add app shortcuts, or any widgets you may have, as well as creating folders, or changing wallpapers. The long press is your best friend.

    Happy Droiding.
     
Search tags for this page
dragged icon into location on droid can't find
,

multi icon mover for android

,
multiiconmover for android