Downloaded BB 0.4 via ROM Mgr.........

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mountaineerndixie, Aug 6, 2010.

  1. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    but I can't find which directory the file is in now that it's done. I just rooted today so take it easy on a guy......
  2. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Should be on your SD card in the clockworkmod/downloads folder
  3. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    All I see in the clockworkmod/download folder is a bunch of .com addresses (i49tinypic.com, i46tinypic.com, etc....)

    Should it be a zip file, I'm assuming?

    Gonna try a different one. CM
  4. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    I thought that ROM Manager automatically installed the ROM for you after downloading, I was having problems with it and switched to SPRecovery for now, any issues post back
  5. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    well, I have just made my first major screwup. I tried CM 6 and as it was downloading I was reading their site and I don't think RC2 is for the Droid. It rebooted now I have the triangle with exclamation point.

    Can I just back out of this somehow?
  6. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Pull the battery and try to boot up again, this sounds like the stock recovery screen, you did just root right?
  7. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yep. White triangle, yellow "!"....

    Disregard the PM I just sent you.
  8. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    What happened when you rebooted?
  9. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah, man. I'm back at square one. I appreciate your help.

    Jeez....
  10. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Now when I try to go back into ROM manager I get a menu that says "Recovery Failure" with 3 options:

    Recovery mode is "broken",

    ROM manager doesn't reboot or

    other
  11. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    When you first Root and try to flash ROMs you will have a lot of those oh crap* moments. ROM manager is iffy sometimes, you can go into rom manager and choose flash SPR recovery and then you can boot into recovery by holding power and the x key while powering up and choose backup/restore and then backup your current ROM this way if anything goes wrong you can restore your backup (this is called making a nandroid backup) as far as flashing roms I think it is best to download it directly from the link in the ROM makers thread and then install it via SPR recovery
  12. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    Choose one doesn't matter, then flash SPR
  13. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    Go into "Flash Alternate Recovery" SPRecovery 0.99.3b....????

    That what you mean? My system looks the way it should now. Just checking.

    I'm gonna go do some reading for a couple days...lol. If I screw up this phone I will lose my mind, especially since they aren't making them any longer.
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
  14. DF Smod
    Offline

    DF Smod Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11,470
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +93
    It's really hard to screw it up...and yes flash an Alternate Recovery SPR then you can boot into recovery by powering down, and while powering up hold down power and the X button untill the recovery screen shows, choose backup/restore and then choose simple nandroid backup and let it do it's thing, this way if anything goes wrong you have that to fall back on
  15. mountaineerndixie
    Offline

    mountaineerndixie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Charleston, WV
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think I did a nandroid when I first installed ROM Manager. ClockworkMod required that I do that before entering the app. Pretty sure that's what happened. I am running fine with my stock 2.2 after the battery pull.

    All of the different recovery terms is really confusing to me. I need to create a visual "layer" imagery to get my mind around how the ROMs work and where they are in relation to the stock, I think. It's a process. I'm sure I'll be laughing at myself in a month...lol
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2010
Search tags for this page

sch-i510 stuck on samsung logo after installing ninja rom