Downgrade to 902 - No app or data loss

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by SamuriHL, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You're quite welcome. I'd be curious if it works when you run it manually or if you get the same issue. Maybe the phone just needed another reboot. Some of the odd things we've seen with ICS on the bionic are quickly cured by a reboot so it's not impossible to imagine.
  2. lwhitit
    Offline

    lwhitit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    100% correct. It just rooted without a hitch after I ran it manually.
  3. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Perfect. Very good!
  4. srmason6
    Offline

    srmason6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I also get the white window, that says it flashed everything, and i am now on 902....i also just re downloaded the FXZ from Sarge, but i do not have the line between ebr and grfs.img it is emstorage.img
  5. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I had to go to the zip FXZ file and copy that (emstorage.img) over to the directory manually.

    Should be 23 files in that directory by my count.

    Good Luck,

    RMD
  6. srmason6
    Offline

    srmason6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Is that line just a direction, can i take it from an older FXZ? Neither of the 902 FXZ's that i have , have that line in it

    edit: I just took it from an older FXZ and I still get the white window, saying i am flashed back to 902

    edit: I also noticed that even after re naming the RUNME file, to bat, it still shows as a text file in the new folder with 23 lines

    edit: changed file to batch by saving in notepad with quotes before and after, just not sure about using the older emstorage.img file
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  7. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The emstorage.img file is not needed and is not flashed by my script.
  8. srmason6
    Offline

    srmason6 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    ok thanks,
    I am running it now.........no dice, bootloop..I'm sure I F'd up something.....Oh well...back to 902


    thanks for the help, I will be trying again...just to see if I can make it work
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  9. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, I've updated the OP again and uploaded a new version of the script. There are some significant changes to take care of the troubleshooting issues we've found. First, the script now requires moto-fastboot.exe to be in the 902 FXZ directory. Not just in the path. And the script checks for it....if not found, it will error out of the script. adb.exe is also good to have in the 902 FXZ dir, but, is not required. If it's not found, you will be shown manual instructions on how to reboot into fastboot. Otherwise we use adb.exe to do it for you. I like automation. :) After the moto-fastboot commands I pause to give you a chance to see any errors that may have happened so you can report them. I cleaned up the text for the manual steps a bit. This should make things smoother. As always please report issues as you find them. Thanks all!
  10. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    If only motorola/verizon could put out updates as fast as you, we would already be on official Jelly Bean OS.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  11. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I've been a software engineer for many years. But, remember, I'm not doing as much QA and validation as moto/vzw. You guys are doing a lot of the testing. I just fix it when I can. :)
  12. SDroidDawg
    Offline

    SDroidDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like others I got stuck originally at the <waiting for device> Debugging is enabled. I then booted to fastboot and I'm running it again. I am now getting messages that different functions has stopped and then the phone reboots. It has probably restarted 7 times now.
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  13. Maddog241
    Offline

    Maddog241 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just finished using your system to get from .229 to .230. It worked like a charm. Thanks for your work on this. :hail:
  14. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That's really not normal. If you're stuck in a boot loop you may not have much of a choice but to use the full 902 FXZ to restore the phone. That will wipe the data unfortunately. Ugh. :(

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk 2
  15. lkevinl
    Offline

    lkevinl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to be clear, there should be no problem using this to go from 2233 to 230, correct? I read here that someone else did it successfully, but I'm concerned about keeping system data if the kernel is different between 2233 and 230 which I heard it is. Thoughts on this?
Search tags for this page
downgrade droid bionic
,
downgrade to 902
,
downgrade xt875
,

house of bionic

,
house of bionic download
,
houseofbionic
,
motorola droid bionic downgrade
,

samurai house of bionic

,
unfortunately the process com.android.phone has stopped
,
xt875 downgrade