Downgrade to 902 - No app or data loss

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by SamuriHL, Jul 2, 2012.

  1. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    O.K. I had a failure to write cdt.bin, logo.bin and ebr even though they were right there in the directory with all the other files.

    This resulted in a general failure.

    I got stuck on the dual core screen, pulled the battery and rebooted into recovery, sideloaded .902, side loaded.905. Both loaded fine.

    Tried to load the .230 file and got a signature failure - abort.

    So I rebooted and now seem to be on 230. I have no idea whether or not it worked, but handset resports that it did.

    We'll see.

    RMD
  2. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Very strange issues some of you are having with flashing. I'm wondering if it's a USB port and/or cable issue that's causing some weird issues. I've not had any problems and lots of others have used it successfully, as well. Really not sure where these differences in experience are coming from. :(
  3. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I cannot imagine why it chose not to write three files which were present in the directory.

    The biggest issue I face now is vetting the various upgrade files floating around.

    They came so fast for a while and I dropped off line for several weeks.

    Now I have a variety of "blur" files on my HD that are likely useless at best and dangerous at worst.

    RMD
  4. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Dee939434049861e1878509dd4692d25

    ;)
  5. EdJanx
    Offline

    EdJanx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northeastern PA
    Failed, now stuck on Fastboot screen

    Help please!!! My install failed after waiting for an hour on the 'writing preinstall step' and now I can only get to the fastboot screen once I do a battery pull. What can I do to unbrick this phone? Thank you.
  6. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You will now need to use RSD Lite and the full 902 FXZ to restore your phone. This will wipe your data. :(
  7. iambecoming
    Offline

    iambecoming New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So I've gone through everything and as my phone is trying to loud up the new leak I keep getting the "Unfortunately the process com.android.phone has stopped" message along with 4 or 5 other different process stopped messages after that. Any tips on what to do now? I've rebooted and gone through the entire process multiple times now.
  8. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I've seen other people report that kind of issue even not using this procedure. I dot not know how to fix it. Have you wiped the cache?
  9. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have updated the OP with full FXZ instructions for those who need a last resort effort to restore their phone. It will wipe your phone completely so use only if all hope is lost after a bad flash. For those having serious problems I really do feel bad for you all. :( I wish I knew how to help.
  10. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the system info in settings reports .230, but quadrant reports .2-233, so I don;t know where I wound up. Phone works, but I may FXZ back to .902 and start over for giggles and grins.

    Any hard points to check to see if I really am running .230?



    RMD
  11. EdJanx
    Offline

    EdJanx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northeastern PA
    Thanks Samuri. I decided to try the process again using the a USB 2.0 port instead of the USB 3.0 port I was using. There were some failures of steps that previously completed successfully in the first attempt, but it got through the process and I'm now at the point of flashing .230. Don't know if it will work, but I wanted to update folks on my progress and the potential glitch of a USB 3.0 port.
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012
  12. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Check the kernel. That's the one thing that's been consistently changed through the leaks.
  13. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Very good to know. I'll add a warning that USB 3 *may* cause issues. Thanks!
  14. iambecoming
    Offline

    iambecoming New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah, I've wiped the cache all 3 times I've gone through the process. Guess I'll have to do the full FXZ now. Thanks for the help though!
  15. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That sucks. Very sorry that happened to you. Good luck!
  16. EdJanx
    Offline

    EdJanx New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northeastern PA
    Success! On system 6.7.230. Don't know if this is the new Kernel or not, but it reads as 3.0.8-gfe28dfa Many thanks SamuriHL!
    dancedroid
  17. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    That'd be the one. Congrats!
  18. rduckwor
    Offline

    rduckwor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, I found the screen shot I had been looking for and all indicators match the .230 update. Sooooo, somehow I guess it worked though I can't tell you how or why.

    The mysteries of Android!

    Thanks,

    RMD
  19. SDroidDawg
    Offline

    SDroidDawg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Samuri I ended up doing just what you suggested here and I'm on .230 now. However, I'm now having rooting my phone again. When I try I it comes back with Signature Verification Failed. Installation aborted. Any suggestions? I'm also considering trying out Safe Strap 2. I had been using safe strap in the past but I heard it did not work well with the ICS. This version is suppose to work with ICS.
  20. SamuriHL
    Offline

    SamuriHL Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You're getting a signature verification failed when trying to ROOT???? Um. SO confused. Detail what it is you're doing please. As for safestrap, I have no experience there. I use bootstrap.
Search tags for this page
downgrade droid bionic
,
downgrade to 902
,
downgrade xt875
,
droid bionic downgrade
,

house of bionic

,
house of bionic download
,
houseofbionic
,
motorola droid bionic downgrade
,
motorola droid xt875 downgrade
,

samurai house of bionic

,
unfortunately the process com.android.phone has stopped
,
xt875 downgrade