Don't want a refurb...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by anava73, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. anava73

    anava73 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ratings:
    +0
    My power button has to be pushed a certain way to work. I would really like to exchange it, but don't want a refurb... not sure what to do? I had the DX2 and had nothing but problems with it, so they swapped it out for a new D3. But it was sent as a certified like new device. Any advice?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  2. Ragnell

    Ragnell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didnt want a refrub either until I got it, It felt brand new honestly, everything worked like it was fresh out the box
     
  3. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're an exception to the rule

    Sent from my Incredible 2
     
  4. Tillyswilly

    Tillyswilly Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Call verizon and tell them that your not excepting a rrfurb and they will send u a new 1

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  5. Ragnell

    Ragnell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    How so?
     
  6. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    The phone has hardly been out for a long time, your most likely going to be sent a new device. Worst comes to worst you get a refurb that works. I dont see a problem with that.

    Beamed down from my Droid 3
     
  7. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Google Verizon certified like new and read the horror stories

    Sent from my Incredible 2
     
  8. tommyg562000

    tommyg562000 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    The only people who write about vzw refurbs are the people who have received bad ones, thus googling it would not be accurate as to the reliablity of the service.

    I've only received one bad refurb in the 10 years I've been with vzw.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. REMilk

    REMilk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    On a Cribbage board
    Ratings:
    +7
    I received my Droid 3 on August 26. The local store determined I had a hardware problem. I received a NEW Droid 3 today as the replacement. Naturally, it did not include the battery and the back of the phone. I just took the battery out of the 'old' Droid 3 and moved it to the replacement Droid 3.
     
  10. kingsway8605

    kingsway8605 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol, exactly. In 10 years, how many refurbs have you received. That is a huge DOA rate.

    Sent from my Incredible 2
     
  11. solar

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also got my Droid 3 replaced with a refurb because of hardware issues and it also seems like new. No issues at all. The only odd thing is that the KB on the new one is "scratchier" then the old on which felt more "smooth" to the touch. It doesn't cause any issues, its just weird that its different. I've also had a refurb D1 and D2, no problems with either one.
     
  12. Bullitt6996

    Bullitt6996 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lameville, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    I had an issue with my new D3 and was sent a refurb, I didn't want a refurb, because I paid for a new one. But when I got it, it looked brand new, so no biggie. However, the issue I had with the first one was that when I connected it to my pc, it locked up and the screen wouldn't respond to anything I did. Tried resets, battery pulls, power x method, it went to the setup screen with andy and "touch screen to start" but that was it. One problem I've had with the replacement is every now and then I get a random reboot and the battery life seems a little less than the first one. I'm thinking that there are more than likely some apps that are not compatible but have slid under the radar. Also, the cam app, if I close out of it with the power button and then go back to it, I get this weird green effect to the screen for a few minutes, then reboot by itself.
    I will continue investigation, and repost when I figure it out.
     
  13. Erikbal

    Erikbal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I've gotten 2 or 3 refurbs in the 7 years I've been with Verizon and also have never had a problem with one. They have looked and performed like brand new. In my opinion they're just as good as new cuz they go through them and fix any and all problems they had and they're supposed to pass quality checks. That's why I don't understand how people get bad ones and ones that are DOA.