Don't USB Tether Your Phone!!!!

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by fillemup9, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. fillemup9

    fillemup9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a warning for everyone not to USB tether your phone. And if anyone has a solution as to what I can do to fix my phone it would be much appreciated.

    I (kind of mistakenly) USB tethered my phone and then got the Verizon page signup that everyone talks about. Only after that it screwed up my phone.

    I now have the market problem of not finding the server and basically any google service no longer works. I can no longer sign in to google Talk. I can't sign into my gmail account and look at mail. Google goggles doesn't work. Google maps does work, but Google Calendar won't sync. The facebook server hangs too and won't load anything.

    Also, one of the worst things and why I'm kind of worried is every webpage I look at now shows up as the verizon tethering webpage. (Using Dolphin Browser)

    I can still receive texts and calls so not all is lost.

    Ive tried the market fix of going into manage applications and clearing everything, I tried clearing the google stuff too, but to no avail.

    I'm going to try and wipe and reflash 0.4 and see if that helps, but im not too optimistic. Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    I USB tether all the time...Never see the page, never will.
     
  3. Chrisace89

    Chrisace89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would re flash the rom,,, if that doesn't work I would install the latest baseban and re activate the phone
     
  4. fillemup9

    fillemup9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Happy for you back in black...

    I have the latest baseband.

    Guess I'll try reflashing after work
     
  5. michael_campbell

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta suburbia.
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think his point is that your alarmist warning may not be applicable universally.
     
  6. ForeverInOur

    ForeverInOur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    if you have a regular data plan. ($30) you have to pay $25 to tether right?
     
  7. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    $20 to tether when it becomes available.
     
  8. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Can't be widespread or there would be 1000 posts on it.
     
  9. owuaarontsi

    owuaarontsi New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    just don't do it through the native froyo settings. Get an app like easytether.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  10. tazwing

    tazwing New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had the same problem. when I tether my phone all I get is this verizon page saying I have to pay extra to tether. I am trying to find a solution around this as I already pay 30 bucks for a data plan and as long as I don't go over there limit (on a so called unlimited plan) how I use it should not cost me extra.
     
  11. wricks

    wricks Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are a number of apps in the market (Wireless tether for root, easy tether, PDA Net-free) that will do what you want without invoking the dreaded Verizon pay-4-play screen. I have read about the native app doing this for usb tethering.
     
  12. caliwagon

    caliwagon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is one reason I'm still on BB v.3. Only the newer build has this issue. I can USB tether without issue using either the native Froyo tethering or the wired tether app.
     
Search tags for this page
can you usb teather a wii
,
google services dont work on tether
,
how to usb tether android to wii
,
samsung s4 usb tether doesn't work
,
tether iphone to wii usb
,
tethering wii with droid
,

usb tether android to wii

,

usb tether wii

,
usb tethering for wii
,
use droid 1 usb to tether to wii