Don't know if this is considered a "Tech issue"..

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by Thruway, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. Thruway

    Thruway Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    Specs
    D2 - Not-rooted
    A week old.
    Anywhom, my phone won't rotate into landscape when it's at the home screen (desktop?) It will rotate though when I pull out the keyboard into landscape.
    Is this normal, or is there a defect on mine?
    P.S. Auto-rotate is ON.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does it rotate while within apps?

    Cause its either a software glitch or a hardware glitch. If it works within other apps though, its software.
     
  3. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    There was a huge discussion on here a while back about rotating home screen. The general consensus was that your phone is not supposed to rotate the stock home into landscape unless the keyboard is out.

    So no your fine as long as it does it in apps or online.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  4. cpjr

    cpjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Ahhhh, I own an X so I didnt even think about that and dont remember from my D1 days.
     
  5. NJLuke

    NJLuke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    But it does...

    I just got my droid 2 a week or so ago also,

    The home screen auto rotated with keybord closed...now it doesn't.

    I understand if it wasn't supposed to in the first place...but how to I restore this functionality, it was nice.

    I read launcher pro has this, but that was from a post well over a year ago.

    Lastly, can someone explain or show me a thread why I dont need an app killer? Im a SUPER NOOB.
     
  6. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. NJLuke

    NJLuke New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    FL
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS!dancedroid:icon_ banana:dancedroid:icon_ banana:dancedroid:icon_ banana: