Done with xScope

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by mitchb2, May 2, 2010.

  1. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's the only app that makes me want to physically destroy my Droid, and that's bad.

    Not even worth going into detail here, but I will advise people not to buy it.

    I wonder if the constant daily updates have just introduced compounded errors?

    Don't know...don't care.
     
  2. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well that's enlightening... don't go into any detail just say it sucks... great thread... Guess the THOUSANDS of other users that are using it and have rated it so high are just wrong? Thank god you came on here and started this thread to set us all straight...

    Here's a suggestion: if you have a legitimate complaint or problem try reporting it to the developer(s) so it can be address and fixed. He is quite active here on the forums and is VERY responsive to bug reports (thus the reason behind the constant updates).
     
  3. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +289
    Mitch,

    I agree with KZIWarrior, you need to specify reasons before you make a post like this. I have tried xScope but it's not for me. In fact I can't think of any program that made me want to physically destroy my Droid, my family, my Jeep, or any other possession of mine.

    The developer is very active here and I know supports the product. Let's hear what has you so upset about xScope.
     
  4. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Too many sites that won't load, searches that go nowhere, white blank screens for no reason.

    xScope is the only app that makes me so frustrated that I can't even figure out my next move.
    When I touch a link, it will for some reason fly to the bottom of the webpage. I don't know why. This happens again and again.

    When I touch a link, it will highlight a link an inch away and choose that instead.
    This isn't like a PC where the cache is on HD. It takes a long time to back up from a mistake and try again.

    If I browse to Droidforums.net, I can't search. No matter what I type, I get nothing.
    If I choose the full site, I get a blank white screen.

    I get 404 errors on sites that I can easily access from my PC.

    I get many, many sites on which the yellow bar just hangs. I have to either abort or refresh many times to get it to work.
     
    #4 mitchb2, May 2, 2010
    Last edited: May 2, 2010
  5. plongson

    plongson Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uh, I'm very happy with xScopeBrowser
     
  6. KZIWarrior

    KZIWarrior Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    Ratings:
    +2
    You may not have a 'magic Droid' but you may very well have a poorly-functioning one. Though there are occasions, normally initially after an update where a page won't load I and several of my Droid using friends (most of which are running stock) have been using xScope as our DEFAULT browser(s) for a long time with hardly any problems. On the few occasions when a problem does occur it is normally addressed ASAP. I would suggest looking deeper into your phone because it sounds like there is something else causing your problems (program conflicts, hardware problems or even bad ROM flash if your rooted).
     
  7. aminaked

    aminaked Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    California, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have to agree with the OP. xscope lite was much better about 2 months ago:
    1)click links and nothing happens
    2)rendering problems like no quick reply on these forums
    3)slow-loading pages with multiple tabs
    4)choppy scrolling
    5)xscope opens default browser for some link clicks

    I've mentioned these things in another forum and the developer should be aware of these things. I don't see how he CAN'T know because these problems are glaring.

    For me, now that I've learned dolphin's quirks, dolphin is the best. This could change in one update...
     
    #7 aminaked, May 3, 2010
    Last edited: May 3, 2010
  8. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm interesting I haven't had any of these problems. I do admit I've come across some annoyances but I immediately report them in the xscope thread. Gary is very vocal there and tries to help out as much as he can. Definitely contact him. As for me it's still my main browser. The way it handles new windowa via long presses and downloading in the background makes it indispensable for my browsing habits.

    Skyfire and dolphin hd are both awesome as well, I use xscope and skyfire interchangeably.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  9. authority11

    authority11 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where's the xScope thread?
     
  10. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's in the supporting vendor sub forum under xscope. It's the thread with the most replies in it. I'd link to it but I don't think you can do that in tapatalk yet :(

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. authority11

    authority11 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet thanks. Hilarious thing about your post was that I was actually *just* debating installing tapatalk. Now that you told me you can't link in forums with it--screw that!
     
  12. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    My experience with tapatalk has been quite pleasant actually. you can link but you have have to copy it from the web browser lol. I wish you could long press on a topic and select "copy link". Don't let that scare you away though. Tapatalk is really nice for causal browsing/posting. In fact lately about 97% of my replies have been through tapatalk lol!

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk