Doesn't let me connect to free store wifi

Discussion in 'Tech Support Device' started by Brionic9001, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. Brionic9001

    Brionic9001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid turbo 2
    Ive been having problems on my droid turbo 2 getting internet from stores that make you accept a terms and conditions to use their free WiFi. I click accept and it seems to just reload the page. So I was wondering if anyone knew a way to fix it or even just away around it
     
  2. LoudRam

    LoudRam Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    332
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Southern NJ
    Ratings:
    +348
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G7
    Twitter:
    @Loudram
    Are you using an ad blocking browser? Maybe that's blocking their internet. Double check all your settings or maybe try a different browser.
     
  3. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    Is it all stores or just specific ones? also how are you trying to access the wifi, through an app, browser or other?
     
  4. Brionic9001

    Brionic9001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid turbo 2
    Going through google chrome, ive tried other browser to which ive had no success, I don't know if my phone has ad blocker on at the moment, ill have to look into that. So far its just the 2 lowes stores I frequent a lot. I havnt gone to target yet since this has been happening
     
  5. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    what is the wifi signal strength? sometimes I get the same thing when the signal strength inside the store is low. that is why I was wondering if it was all stores.
     
  6. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,588
    Likes Received:
    11,953
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,510
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    There have been several reports of this the past few years on the Moto Forum. Most folks reported that after initially connecting to the public WiFi (with login) try opening several different new tabs pointed to different websites. That sometimes forces the phone to actually "connect" to the WiFi and passes the login information

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  7. Brionic9001

    Brionic9001 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid turbo 2
    The wifi there is generally pretty weak
     
  8. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,588
    Likes Received:
    11,953
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,510
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I don't think it's weak WiFi, it's the way the Turbo 2, Moto X Pure and some other Moto phones deal with WiFi that requires those logon screens on the browser

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  9. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    try forgetting the wifi network then try again
     
  10. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,053
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    just spent about 15 minutes looking for an online source about this but could not find any. do you have a source?
     
  11. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,588
    Likes Received:
    11,953
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,510
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    The Moto Forum. Don't have a link to a specific thread, but have seen it discussed there a few times the past few years.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    14,588
    Likes Received:
    11,953
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,510
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    I don't use public WiFi often, but a few years ago I ran into a similar situation with either my Turbo or Turbo 2. That's when I found some posts about opening new Browser tabs to kind of force the connection to the WiFi network requiring a login with a browser. If I have some time I will try to find those posts

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
Search tags for this page

best cameras

,

news