1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Does your 4G ever drop for a few seconds or a couple of minutes?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by GSdub510, Jun 10, 2012.

  1. GSdub510
    Offline

    GSdub510 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From my house I usually have 2 or 3 bars of 4G...so sometimes (about once a day) when i'm web browsing on 4G it will just drop (4G logo in the top right corner disappears and its just bars...then the 4G logo comes back but it is white (it only works when it's blue.)

    this just happened to me for a few minutes, turned the 4G off and then on again (i use a widget from Go Launcher EX to do this), didn't do anything. but now it's back but did it on its own

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-support/203904-4g-dropping-out-razr-maxx.html

    s
    ame thing with this guy
  2. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    Yep, I get this often. It does not seem to happen when I have it set to only 3g though
  3. mbell75
    Offline

    mbell75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, mine does this a lot and my data will drop completely. Its really pissing me off. Have tried everything from pulling the SIM card to getting a new SIM card to a new MAXX. About to dump it for another phone because this is ridiculous and Verizon has zero answers.
  4. GSdub510
    Offline

    GSdub510 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This happened twice in the last ten minutes it's ridiculous. And we shouldn't have to settle for 3G because we paid for LTE.
  5. mbell75
    Offline

    mbell75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where do you guys live and how long has this been happening? Only been happening to me the last week or so. Download an app called Restore Connectivity Settings from Motorola Mobility and run it. I don't have any battery saving apps or task killers installed but this seems to restore my 4G for a good 3-4 hours. Another irritating thing is your battery goes much faster when its constantly searching for and losing data connection.
  6. GSdub510
    Offline

    GSdub510 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bay Area over here and I did install that 2 hours ago and rebooted the phone and so forth...then like 10 min ago it dropped. So this can't be a serious fix...
  7. GSdub510
    Offline

    GSdub510 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's been doing it about the same as your phone
  8. wxman2003
    Offline

    wxman2003 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Facebook app has been known to cause these problems on the razr. Not only is it a battery hog, it also causes other problems. Other apps could be the culprit too. Also, not every tower has 4G, and you may be actually connecting to a tower further away from the 3G tower, and thus you will see it switch back and forth between the closer 3G tower and the further away 4G tower. I notice that at my house. When I lose my 2 bars of 4G, 3G comes in at 4 bars, so I know my phone is trying to connect to a tower further away for 4G. i did remove my Facebook app and then did the following. it will make your phone more stable.

    Turn phone off.

    While off, press and hold both volume keys and power on phone.

    Press volume key down to highlight recovery and then press volume key up to boot into recovery. Then you will see android icon with triangle.

    Press both volume keys.

    Choose clear cache partition using down volume and press power button to clear cache.

    Highlight reboot / restart and press power and your phone will reboot.
  9. GSdub510
    Offline

    GSdub510 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good looking out, thanks.
  10. RicKaysen
    Offline

    RicKaysen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to have a very solid 4G signal in central NJ, then I moved to Fort Lauderdale....ugh. My phone indicates 2 or 3 bars in 4G, but it's slow with frequent loss of a data connection and it only takes driving a few blocks to notice I'm down to 3G. I was talking to a sales rep in a Best Buy Mobile store about it and his opinion was that ATT has a more robust network down here. I switched from ATT to Verizon a few years ago in NJ because of poor reception and I don't relish the idea of having to switch back.
  11. mbell75
    Offline

    mbell75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried uninstalling the FB app a few days ago too thinking maybe that was it, didn't matter, problem still persisted.
  12. jackiescivic
    Offline

    jackiescivic Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Muskego, WI
    I live in the Milw area, and this happens to me mostly when I am at work (Costco, about 35 min from my house). Our building is known for having a crappy 4G signal, so now I typically put my phone to 3G and do not experience a problem. It has dropped a few times outside of work as well though.
  13. TripleX
    Offline

    TripleX New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SW VA
    Mine does it all the time even if I have full 4G signal... I don't have the Facebook app. If I want service back fast I have to turn my phone off then back on, otherwise it has taken up to or more than 5 minutes. :blink:
  14. RicKaysen
    Offline

    RicKaysen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have to resort to rebooting sometimes also. Any word on whether ICS will help connectivity?
  15. jgmecarter
    Offline

    jgmecarter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine does it on 3G and 4G and no ics will not make it any better unless they Change the radios in the update
  16. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    587
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Not necessarily. Vzw has had issues with the way our devices register with the towers to have a signal with their network. This issue had greatly decreased after an update was released for it. Now its coming back. Perhaps they've changed something again, and the next update will address the issue. There's no way to be certain. :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  17. Mike8016
    Offline

    Mike8016 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I live in the bay area and it happens to me a little. Its really frustrating who your trying to use the internet and it dosent work

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  18. TatDroid
    Offline

    TatDroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I see a lot of mentions in this post about "bars" of 3G or 4G signal strength. It's my understanding that the bars measure phone signal strength only. Data signal strength (4G or 3G) is not shown on the taskbar.
  19. mbell75
    Offline

    mbell75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct.
  20. nyvideo
    Offline

    nyvideo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having the same issue for the last week or 2, even sitting at my desk in Midtown NYC.
    It used to be a rock solid signal and now 4G is in and out.
Search tags for this page
4g lte connection drops
,

droid razr dropping 4g

,

droid razr drops 4g

,

droid razr maxx data drop

,

droid razr maxx dropping 4g

,
facebook mobile app drops my 4g
,
getting dropped using hotspot with droid razr maxx
,

razr maxx dropping 4g

,

razr maxx drops 4g

,
sprint android 4g drops a few seconds
,
verizon 4g drops connection
,
verizon data drops after a couple minutes
,
verizon dropping 4g lte fix
,
what causes 4g signal problems on droid maxx
,
why dies my 4g work for a few min