Does wireless tether work on Froyo?

Discussion in 'Bugless' started by tu3218, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I'm gonna go ahead and install this on my phone but I remember reading this didn't work. I was wondering if this is fixed now.
     
  2. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tethering works for me on Froyo with TC Clean Black theme.
     
  3. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
  4. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running wireless tether 2.0.2 pre14
     
  5. groovydeus

    groovydeus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    39.8° N 84.2° W
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. No problems.
     
  6. TrailorParkKid

    TrailorParkKid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works fine for me, stats in sig :)
     
  7. knotbeerdan

    knotbeerdan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the link, I have been trying to find this since i upgraded to froyo
     
  8. cyb3rtr0n

    cyb3rtr0n Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using BB 0.4, Fabolous' NExTheme for BB 0.4, Chevy 1.1 medv kernel

    installed wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre2.apk, allowed root access when superuser poopup appeared.

    when I click on "press to start tethering" I get the message "unable to start tethering, please try again"

    Using Root Explorer, I browsed to /data/data/android.tether/bin and allowed permissions to read/write and execute for the tether file in that folder. long pressing on the file brings up a menu where permissions is an option.

    now when I press "Press to start tethering" i get the message that it has started with errors. I check the show log and three things have failed.
    1. setting ad-hoc mode failed
    2. setting essid failed
    3. setting channel failed.

    but it does say tether is currently running, and I get the wifi connection on my laptop


    Initially I made this post saying it wasnt working. but after I gave permission to the files above, I fixed my problem. even with the fails in the show log I can connect to the android wifi and get a up and down stream.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2010
  9. jkhouw1

    jkhouw1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've tried both wireless_tether_2_0_5-pre2.apk, and wireless_tether_2_0_2.apk running Bugless Beast V0.4 Android 2.2 FRF84B but am unable to get wireless tether to work. It starts with no errors on phone, the laptop is able to connect to it using code (and shows connected), but the laptop reports no internet access.

    The droid has inet access (tested opening phone browser).
    the droid shows laptop connected to wireless tether as authorized client.

    Am I missing something stupidly simple? I had this working with pre-froyo bugless builds but can't seem to get this work now...

    tia

     
  10. continental

    continental New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same problem as Tia. I start wireless tether with no errors other devices connect and i allow access control, but when i try to use the internet in other devices connected to droid phone i get no internet.

    FYI running p3 kernel 1250 and wireless tether 2.0.5 pre2. Anything more i should be running or missing.

    Thanks

    ALonso
     
  11. ckamc

    ckamc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    bb 0.4, nextheme, p3 124-800mhz kernal. had a problem in the past .2.1 froyo with the pre2 version i got off google site. would not work, the i downloaded the version listed in market and it worked fine.

    check your permissions, i know thats part of it
     
  12. continental

    continental New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    what permission should i check?

    Thanks
     
  13. wricks

    wricks Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Burlington, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, Tethering as I type from my laptop.
     
  14. SwinePunk

    SwinePunk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Continental,

    I am having the same issues, did you find a fix?
     
  15. bekyndnunwind

    bekyndnunwind Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am having the same issues as continental. I am currently using Chevy's 1.0 LV kernel, and wondering if the low voltage is causing the issue.

    Frustrating, because it appears everything is working and connected, but I cannot get any webpages to load on the PC...