Does Swype suck on the TB?

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by mitchb2, May 14, 2011.

  1. mitchb2

    mitchb2 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does for me. I spend more time backspacing than typing, and end up pecking 80% of the words.
     
  2. 1android

    1android Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Swype sucks period! I would suggest the better keyboard or swiftkey keyboards if you don't like the stock HTC option
     
  3. leonozug

    leonozug Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go to the Amazon app store, they have an awesome free app of the day and it's like swype, it's called Flex T9, but can do a lot more than Swype. I downloaded it to check it out and it's really good.
     
  4. BasilofBakerStreet

    BasilofBakerStreet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +1
    I completely agree with this. I tried it just because it was free. I regret not using it sooner.

    Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
     
  5. leonozug

    leonozug Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely. You can even choose the option to write out the words with your fingers if you want. I woudln't use it, but the option is cool. lol
     
  6. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,802
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +234
    I've been using Swype with my TB since the TB came out. I have absolutely no issues with it.
     
  7. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,802
    Likes Received:
    225
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +234
    I downloaded this Flex T9 this morning on Amazon, and it's free today if someone wants to try it. I just gave it a try and am pretty impressed with it. I like my themed Swype, so if this program takes off, hopefully I can get a themed version of this.
     
  8. ndhill1976

    ndhill1976 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really like swype, but on the TB I have to really exadurate my double letters and the deal with having to reenable swype everytime I reboot is a pain. I just downloaded the keyboard from Amazon, and will give it a try.
     
  9. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Does some annoying things..for example when I just wanna change a letter and click at the end of the word it highlights the whole thing and brings up suggestions.

    Other than that I love swype
     
  10. Faithfill

    Faithfill Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I get swype on my tbolt?
     
  11. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    I definitely like FlexT9 over Swype. I hope everyone was able to take advantage of it being free yesterday on Amazon.
     
  12. lettuce chief

    lettuce chief Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yessss. flex t9 is so much bbetter. if you didn't get it from the Amazon appstore yesterday,you missed out. it has swipe built in and works great. it's 5 bucks in the market..... of you're willing to try it out there might be a trial. I switched from swift Key to flex t9 and I'm never gonna switch back.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  13. anuraj1

    anuraj1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm giving t9flex a try, but so far, i'm really missing the ability in swype to add punctuation by swyping from ! to spacebar or ? to spacebar. Do you have to hold down the keys to get punctuation on t9flex?
     
  14. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hold down the period button and your options will pop up.
     
  15. Shad0www

    Shad0www Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If the TB comes with swype stock then I would root and uninstall with titanium and use the beta because I find it alot better then these stock versions.

    Sent from my DROIDX