Does rooting mess with the radio?

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by mzhenderson, Feb 22, 2011.

  1. mzhenderson

    mzhenderson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to root again but I'm scared it may mess with the radio. I had to have my Milestone replaced because rooting messed up my PRL version number. Is it possible to root without it harming the radio, signal, baseband, etc.?

    Sent from my A854 using DroidForums App
     
  2. hk9090

    hk9090 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Can you further explain your problem? I got a brand new Milestone 2 recently working on the 850 mhz band. After some days it simply stopped working on the 850 Mhz band. All other bands worked ok though.

    I did not think rooting could be the cause of it, but after reading you post I realized this could be the cause. Rooting was the only mod I did to the phone.

    Thanks,
     
  3. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    I'm not sure if this would work with a milestone but can't you update your phones baseband (radio) through an update.zip in recovery or through dialing the update number? (Will look into what the number is in a minute)

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

    Edit: try dialing *228 then selecting option 2
    See if that'll give you a baseband (radio) update :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
  4. sarreq

    sarreq Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +0
    *228 is for verizon, the milestone (a854) is not.
     
  5. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Rooting itself wouldn't affect the radio as it just changes what you have access to. Now, flashing something incorrectly......

    This thread has been Thunder struck!!
     
  6. metalspring

    metalspring Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Ratings:
    +24
    I thought that might be the case, however I'm sure other carriers have something equivalent to that right? Its just a matter of looking it up

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

does rooting mess up phone reception

,

does rooting nexus 4 mess up radio?

,

rooting mess with radio?

,

rooting nexus 4 mess up radio

,

will rooting a phone radio