Does overclocking take a paid app?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by xythil, Mar 11, 2010.

  1. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guy I just watched some videos on overclocking/ROOTing. In the video the guy stated he had to buy an app. Is this still the case? If so what is the cost
  2. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,186
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    setcpu from the market. make sure in settings you set it to auto detect to overclock.
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I can't tell because I paid for it what the cost was. Look up SetCpu in the Market for the price.
  4. droidilac
    Offline

    droidilac New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I searched the market for "overclock" It came up with an overclock widget. Works just fine for me. It isnt as advanced or as nice as SetCpu. SetCpu has all the different profiles. The widget I am using does have a setting for "Screen On setting" and a "SCreen OFF setting" In other words I have mine set to 250-950 screen on and 125-250 with the screen off....
  5. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is overclocking necessary for the ROMs? Or just extra?
  6. nphil
    Offline

    nphil New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Not necessary, just cool. Stock 2.1 based ROMS run pretty fast at 600 MHz. SetCPU is 99 cents on the market btw, or you can just download it from xda-developers where it's free.
  7. qwiksilver711
    Offline

    qwiksilver711 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Backwoods Montana
    You can get set cpu for free from the xda developers site... its not a necessity, just nice to have a little extra power. But set cpu is only 99 cents... come on and support the dev and pay for it
  8. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    yeah, I knew it was cheap, just didn't remember what I paid for it.

    OP search Set CPU in market.
  9. shmoo
    Offline

    shmoo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SetCPU was like 1 or 2 bucks I think. Really not bad at all
  10. deputc26
    Offline

    deputc26 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    overclockwidget will do It for free but is harder to use/lamer. The dev at XDA who made setCPU occasionally gives it out for free.
  11. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Somewhere in the past I saw the terminal emulation syntax you could use to do this yourself at zero cost.

    However, SetCPU also auto changes your upper and lower clockspeed range depending on if you are using the phone, it is in sleep mode, it is charging, it has low battery, etc. Going the free route you would have to monitor and make those changes yourself as need be if you wanted them changed when phone state or condition changed. For the price, you can't go wrong.
  12. DessoThumbs
    Offline

    DessoThumbs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    99 cents for me. If you add the widget to one of your 5 screens it also shows internal temp. You can set it to throttle back if the temp reaches a custom value, thus saving your processor from RROD.
  13. xythil
    Offline

    xythil New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    whats xda developers?
  14. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,186
    Likes Received:
    898
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I am hesitant to pay for an app, but considering that I am overclocking/over working my processor I have no problem paying a buck for an app that is proven and has profiles to keep you from burning up your phone. To me a dollar is better then free and later sayin o.s now I have to take this back to vzw and hope I get another one.
  15. jeffm1000
    Offline

    jeffm1000 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Merrimack, NH
    I thought I was a cheap mofo, pay the buck ffs.
Search tags for this page

best app to overclock android

,
free overclock app android x501
,

how to get setcpu for free