1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Does OTA Gingerbread brick rooted TBolts????

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Tech Support' started by snmemx, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All,

    Ok, now I'm in a panic. I'd rooted my TBolt but nothing else (no custom ROMs, etc). I just noticed the OTA Gingerbread update was ready to download and I started the process. It downloaded the file, rebooted to start the install, now I'm looking at a white triangle with an explanation point in the middle and a blue android guy. Nothing appears to be happening. If anyone has any idea of what this means, I'd REALLY APPRECIATE a reply.

    Thanks!
  2. alboboy10
    Offline

    alboboy10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't think you're supposed to update when rooted. I haven't updated for that reason. I'm rooted also.
  3. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks - I'd read somewhere that the OTA would work on rooted but it would unroot them. It would appear that isn't the case. It's been 20min and the screen is just sitting there displaying the annoying triangle/yellow explanation point and blue android guy.
  4. thirsty1258
    Offline

    thirsty1258 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you u get back into recovery and flash from your memory.

    sent from my thunderbolt
  5. snmemx
    Offline

    snmemx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was able to get back into recovery and got lucky it would appear...I wiped the cash as suggested in the sticky'd thread at the top...rebooting a 2nd time now just to make sure it comes back up. What's involved in flashing it from my memory?