Does it have a virtual keyboard?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by PaulQ, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the Pro also have a virtual (screen) keyboard?
     
  2. tb110895

    tb110895 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep. when you turn it sideways
     
  3. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    So you have to have the auto-rotate turned on? Is there a way to activate it otherwise (or force the screen to rotate)?
     
  4. tb110895

    tb110895 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure as I have the droid 2, not the pro. I don't think so though.
     
  5. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tried it, nope.

    But there may be some key you press or something.
     
  6. tb110895

    tb110895 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Maybe. when I saw Phonedog's review on it, they had to put auto rotate on for it to work
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    From the VZW site
    Keyboard
    QWERTY Keyboard & Virtual QWERTY Keyboard (in Landscape)

    Set Your Location
     
  8. spydergirl

    spydergirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    Mine only works in landscape mode. You might try to press and hold in the text box area and see what options (if any) come up. Maybe you can force it up that way? Not sure, though.
     
  9. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got it working. You have to tap in the text box area. Doh!
     
  10. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Thanks for the follow up and tip, Paul.
     
  11. ravenhawk

    ravenhawk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you tap the text box in landscape mode then the virtual keyboard turns on. this does not work in portrait mode... but not sure why you would want it to in that mode anyway.
     
  12. spydergirl

    spydergirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Ratings:
    +2
    It only works for me in landscape mode when I tap into the text box. It doesn't pull up the virtual keyboard in portrait mode. But I wouldn't use it in that mode anyway.
     
Search tags for this page
bringging up touch keyboard on droid pro
,
does moto x have keyboard
,
does the droid 4 have a touch screen keyboard
,
droid pro on screen keyboard
,
droid pro touch keyboard
,
droid pro touch screen keyboard
,

droid pro virtual keyboard

,
motorola droid pro touch screen keyboard
,
touch screen keyboard on droid pro
,
virtual keyboard on droid pro