Does Cyanogen hate SP Recoverys?

Discussion in 'LithiumMod' started by icculusX, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I just installed Jrummy's new 0.7 remix and I love it. I used SDK ADB Shell on my pc to theme my framework and some stuff, added all my apps, made everything perfect, then decided to boot into SP Recovery to make a good solid backup before I mess anything up.

    Well today I messed everything up. I said ehh whatever and went into SP Recovery, wiped data, cache... and selected to recover my Backup. It did but now it just boots into the boot animation and restarts in a loop.

    Is this a SP Recovery issue? Should I trust Clockwork from now on? I had some issues with Clockwork weeks ago so I changed from using it. Days ago I was on v0.6 and I made 2 SP Recovery backups and when I slopped it all up they restored my phone, but my Google account was messed up... said I was logged in but wouldn't let me in ANY Google apps. I found no way to fix. I need to now re-do everything I worked on, and worst of all I am at work and cant use ADB Shell... its killing me haha. (HELP? CLOCKWORK?)
     
  2. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Clockwork seems to have most of the bugs worked out. I was hesitant at first as well because SPRecovery worked so well for me, but Clockwork has worked just as well over the past couple of weeks. Koush is constantly updating it, so I say you should make the switch for good. The Droid community needs to settle on a single recovery so that we don't have this issue.
     
    #2 JhankG, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  3. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree. Since I have to start clean I am just going to re-download Rom Manager and download JRummy's 0.7 using that, do a clean install and only use Clockwork from now on... Uhh I cannot tell you how many times I have had to do stuff like this haha.

    Anyone else have this issue with SP Recovery and a CyanogenROM?


    Here we go... wish me luck (while I am at work hiding it from my boss. haha)
     
  4. Alex K.

    Alex K. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really, SPRecovery is no longer the standard for recoveries.

    ClockworkMod and Rom Manager have taken over because of their ease of use and the fact that the whole process is automated.

    I have abandoned SPR (you can probably tell, I'm a Cyan user), and while the two recoveries have their two differences, I have not x-booted into recovery or actually spent time there since i have made the switch.
     
  5. icculusX

    icculusX Premium Member
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    The Moon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dude, I hear ya out... but I have used SP Recovery for a long time and never had a flaw until now where Clockwork has screwed me back in the day many times. SP is a great simple recovery...

    My issue/question wasn't about which recovery I should use, it is explaining my jrummy cyanogen SP problem and asking if anyone else had these issues... It's my first time using cyanogen so I am getting use to it (like issues with MM and such)
     
  6. mjh68

    mjh68 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Personally, I have used both SP recovery and clockwork to recover Jrummy's roms and have never had an issue as described so not sure if it was the recovery's fault or not . Depending upon what you messed up , maybe try to wipe using abd first ? Maybe a battery pull , thought I read somewhere that will clear out the ram . Just tossing out a few ideas I am new at this so maybe those don't even make sense .
     
    #6 mjh68, Apr 22, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2010
  7. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Agreed. Recovery is not the issue. Wipe and reflash.