Does anyone else have this very annoying problem with the Android Market?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by Sanitarium09, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Droid Bionic. When I open the Market and click on "My Apps", nothing shows up. Meaning I can't get updates or see installed apps. I've been forced to use the Appbrain app to find my updates on this device. My other Android devices work fine and all apps appear. I've contacted Google support on more than one occasion and all they've told me, more or less, is "We're aware of it." This has been going on since November and when I bought the phone it worked fine. Here's what is says:

    http://bit.ly/xU1bsX

    I'm at a loss on this.
     
  2. CJM

    CJM Super Moderator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10,592
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +1,808
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    Twitter:
    https://twitter.com/Corey
    I'd clear the data & cache to see if that helps. Just go to settings>apps(or manage apps), select All at the top, scroll down & look for the Market & select it. You'll see the buttons for clearing data & cache. Then go back & open the market. It will ask you to accept the terms again, just hit ok & it will open so you can check if it worked. Hope this will help.
     
  3. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, I've done that. I've also uninstalled the market and cleared the data on "google services framework". When it comes back, my paid apps are there the first time I open "my apps" but once I leave that it keeps right on doing it.
     
  4. rza49311

    rza49311 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do you have more than one google account setup on the phone? I've seen this problem with two accounts setup. The apps screen will be blank but if I hit menu > accounts and pick the other account, they all show up.
     
  5. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, there are two Google accounts on the phone. The other account does show the apps associated with that account. I'd move everything to that account, but the problem is that all of my paid apps are on the account that will not show that apps.
     
  6. yaterml

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    This worked for me, first I am not reponsible if this mess up your phone, this worked for me, your results may vary.
    Delete the good working profile as not to mess it up.
    Use Titanium to destroy all your market links
    Reboot Phone
    Use a file explorer with root access to delete the market_assessts.db file located in /data/data/com.android.vending/databases
    (For this I used ES file explorer make sure to enable root access, and to allow it to be writable.)
    Reboot Phone
    Use Titanium Back Up to relink applications
    (These cannot be non-market apps. No pirated, No third party apps, no paid apps you didn't purchase through the market place. Relinking any of these will re-break the profile once the market looks for updates to the programs.) Link all free and paid apps that you got through Google Android Market Place
    Reboot Phone
    Enjoy, it can take up to 15 minutes for the apps to come back, after they do re-add your second working Google profile.
    Using any program that backs up, or edits market links will rebreak this connection.
    Googles server looks for anything and I mean anything that might mean you have a rooted phone and rejects your connections. Once you do this relink you cannot individually edit the links or it will rebreak the connection. I have heard that having TB or Rom Manager will automatically cause you to lose market access. Thanks you
     
  7. gsDroid

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm rooted, use Titanium backup and Rom Manager and have never lost market links. I don't believe any of that is the cause of the OP's problem. Unfortunately, I don't have a solution to offer.
     
  8. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help, however I tried this and it didn't work. This has to be some problem on Google's end. I'm going to have to just keep on hounding them. I don't know what else I can do.
     
  9. yaterml

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    It is a "problem" on Google's end. Its a connection error, whether its the sim ID doesn't match and it rejects, its intentionally rejects because the link have been tampered with, or whatever cause. I troubled shooted what was causing my error. It defaults to this screen because it thinks you don't have any applications installed. Google originally told me it was because I had switched sim cards, no the case I had tried all three in there. Then it was a data issue so I cleared my data for the market. Still nothing. Then it meant it was an end-user error. Meaning it was rooted however I got a new phone so it hadn't been rooted, old profile nothing. So I created a new profile, bingo it had everything as in basic preinstalled apps. So I knew it was only for one profile not the phone. I unistalled the update to the market, suspicions confirmed kept getting rejected server error on old profile processed through with the new one no problem. I rooted my phone in an attempt to fix it, and the market.assests seams to be the culprit of the issue it stores the files as they relate to what's on my phone. I deleted the file and makret links but it didn't return the files so I added them back in one batch file restoring via the TB that way it couldn't see that it had been edited only by created. First few times it rejected but I finally found the combination of apps that allow it to work, what worked for me was only application I downloaded to my phone and the stock applications that came with it, nothing from 3rd parties. I have TB on my market but someone else said they had issues with anything that would show rooted to Google. Which would make since as my Droid X was rooted but not my Bionic and caused the issue in the first place. Different phones same account same issue. But if you try to go back and manually edit the market links I.e. line by line it kills it again. If you don't do it correctly in the first batch relink it wont work or wont work for long, but like I said its what worked for me your results might vary.

    Sent from my DROID4 using DroidForums
     
  10. yaterml

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I found an app that seams to fix the problem ill post it if I can.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. Sanitarium09

    Sanitarium09 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    #11 Sanitarium09, Feb 6, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  12. debrad0307

    debrad0307 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +19
    Glad you got this worked out. I gotta keep this in mind in case that happens to me!

    tappin and talkin on my BIONIC
     
Search tags for this page

package file is invalid android market

,
package is invalid android market
,
what does it mean when it says package file invalid
,
what does it mean when it says package file is invalid
,
what does it mean when my phone says package file invalid
,
what does it mean when your phone says package file invalid
,
what does it mean when your phone says package file is inval
,
what does package file invalid mean
,
what does package file invalid mean on android
,
why does my phone say package file invalid