Does anyone else have this issue??

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by 94lt1, Oct 4, 2015.

  1. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    My WiFi is locked down..turned off..not set to scan or anything...off..yet every dang time I go to Walmart...my phone is trying to connect with their network???

    This feels intrusive..and I don't have this issue anywhere else...oh except one party city location in Houston... Is it just me??
     
  2. jplemt

    jplemt Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cornfields, Indiana, USA
    Ratings:
    +75
    Do you have the Walmart app? Maybe it has some sort of location thing that tries to connect to the mother ship network?

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Miller6386

    Miller6386 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,294
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    Trophy Points:
    1,363
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Ratings:
    +1,740
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    CoreyFMiller
    Have you connected to their network in the past? I doubt it's a location issue probably more so the fact it sees their network and wants to connect

    Note 4tified
     
  4. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    No I don't have their app..and I've never connected with them before..they've tried to connect with me before...but I believe I found it..in WiFi and advanced...I had it all locked down except for "notify me of public networks".. Would've thought that wouldn't matter with WiFi off, and off everywhere else...

    They need to stop trying to push us to WiFi ..we pay for our data usage...they can buzz off...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  5. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    7,107
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,455
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    What are your location settings like? If you allow it to scan for WiFi networks even when WiFi is off, then have it set to notify you of public WiFi, that might be a factor.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northeast Iowa
    Ratings:
    +228
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Z Force Droid Verizon
    There is an Always Scanning available, even when WiFi is off, that can be turned off in WiFi/Advanced settings.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11,511
    Likes Received:
    7,217
    Trophy Points:
    1,863
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +7,731
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Droid Z Force
    I have never noticed it before @94lt1 , but will definitely keep an eye on my phone the next time I am at a Wally World store.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Location settings are off..I turn it on only if I use GPS ..scanning is set to off, I know I had it locked down completely.. I find this odd..I know now it's locked down..buy if it happens again..I'm going to assume they reach out to all devices..which I feel is intrusive...

    Doesn't happen at the gym , or anywhere else..except that party city and that one Walmart..party city hasn't happened since I told it to forget it..even though I never told the phone to remember party city's WiFi..
     
  9. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Figured it out...its my Verizon phone security app..vzprotect..it is telling me that there is a suspicious WiFi that's not secure, available... I'm just trying to find out why its telling me anything when I'm not trying to connect with it???

    It's like...there's a cop in the east bound lane with a radar trap..thanx but I'm headed west...or south...taking the exit..smdh
     
    • Like Like x 3
  10. 1coopgt

    1coopgt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +94
    This right here ..... I had it all locked down except for "notify me of public networks"
     
  11. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,150
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    When it pops up..it keeps checking that by itself...I have it turned off..yet incan walk through those doors and it will pop up..
     
  12. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Northeast Iowa
    Ratings:
    +228
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola Z Force Droid Verizon
    What are the pros and cons of leaving Scanning Always Available enabled in the Advanced WiFi settings.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk