1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Does 1.2.1 work on the new. 340 ota?

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by ScottyDsntKnow, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wondering. I am going to wait to upgrade if not. I hate everything about the stock rom.

    Also, is the new apex thread gone because of the new ota or something? I don't see it...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  2. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Droid forums app has a tab for stickies, you ll have to go to that tab to see the apex thread and themes thread

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  3. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I just got on a real computer and saw that. Doh...
  4. riahon
    Offline

    riahon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    SHouldn't be too long of a wait. He tweeted earlier: @Bigxie Wooow, got work in 5 hours. OK, as long as this build doesn't blow up on me tomorrow at work, I'm pretty sure it's 95% done. about 6 hours ago via TweetDeck
  5. Fabolous
    Offline

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Guys, remember that the .340 SBF is system only, that means it doesn't update your kernel or anything.

    So if you did the .340 SBF, you'd get moved up to .340, and then if you installed 1.2.1 again, you'd just be right back at .320 :)
  6. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    If I'm already on the leak is there any reason to go to .340?
  7. ScottyDsntKnow
    Offline

    ScottyDsntKnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There will be when the new roms are released and are .340 only.
  8. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Do we have a way to upgrade from 320 to 340? I looked for an answer but have not had any luck
  9. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What Fab and Scotty are saying is this:

    The difference between .320 and .340 are in the /system only. ApeX 1.2.1 takes the /system from .320 and makes changes to it to give us the wonderful system we have. If we flash .340 we lose ApeX because the /system is overwritten with all the new Moto stuff. If we THEN install ApeX 1.2.1, we again overwrite /system which removes all the Moto and updates and we're back to .320-based /system

    Fab is working on ApeX 1.3 which will be ApeX on top of .340.

    That's what we should be waiting for. :)
  10. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Thanks for the reply bro....so if I understand correctly even tho I'm on 320 I could go to the new apex when its out.....i just won't have some of the new bloatware like madden but it will update to 340?
  11. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exactly! We'll have .340 because Fab will have built ApeX from the .340 stock /system folder.

    We already have the kernel and bootloader from the OTA because that's what came with the .320 leak.

    (Of course, this is assuming that nothing changed with those two items between versions, but that seems to be the case)
  12. Steady Hawkin
    Offline

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    Perfect.....thank you!
  13. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A lot of people are saying nothing changed btw .32 and .34. But people should realize that something as small as a different version number within the bootloader/kernel will cause enough compatibility issues to brick. The bootloader for .34 MIGHT have different numbers simply as a result of being compiled later. If that's the case:

    Can you system only sbf from .32 to .34? Yes. Can you full sbf from .15 to .34? Yes. But what happens when someone on .32 tries to full sbf to .15 or .34? Could very well be a brick. Basically, right now .32 users may be permanently limited to system only sbf's until the bootloader is cracked. So what does this mean as far as operation? Nada, except that youll never be able to OTA, and if a future ota changes the kernel for performance gain, youll still be stuck on the old one. P3 said he has a way back to .15 for .32 users, but I haven't seen it, and he said that a while ago. Id think he d have released it by now, anyone know if he has?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  14. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    By the way, has anyone heard of someone on .32 trying to ota to .34? That of course is the true test. If they succeed, you can disregard the above post and you have nothing to worry about.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  15. Fabolous
    Offline

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    The 25MB OTA file is meant to do only one thing, get someone from a stock 2.3.15 to 2.3.340.

    There is no difference in kernel or bootloader between .320 and .340. You can switch between them as much as you like.
  16. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If that's true then .32 users will have no prob doing ota, or using the .34 full sbf when they need to, is that correct?


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  17. jhanford
    Offline

    jhanford New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You won't be able to OTA coz you're not coming from a recognized state. It would be like trying to OTA from 2.2 to 2.2

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  18. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sry I only meant with regard to bootloader. Im asking if someone on .32 leak (bootloader and all) were to system only sbf to stock .15, could they then successfully ota? Because if the kernels and bootloader are truly the same, then they should be able to. Solve that riddle, and youll have answered the most frequently asked question on the droid x forums over the past 2 days.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  19. Fabolous
    Offline

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    No...

    .320 and .340 have the same bootloader and kernel, both of which are different from 2.3.15 and incompatible.

    You CANNOT SBF back to 2.3.15 if you're on .320 and above.

    If you're on .320, why would you want to SBF back to 2.3.15 to take the OTA to get to .340 when there's already a SBF to go to .340 directly from .320?
  20. droidxchat
    Offline

    droidxchat New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What I said was system only sbf back to .15, not full sbf. You CAN system only sbf to any version regardless of your current bootloader version. Youre saying theres no point to do that because the bootloaders btw .32 and ota are the same. What im saying is you can do this to check if the .32 and ota bootloaders are truly the same. Otherwise, if you dont ota and instead just go from .32 to .34 with a provided rom package (which would be.system only) you could find that next time you ota, you brick, just because you took some guys word for it that the bootloaders are the same where in reality they are not. This is a very simple way to be CERTAIN that the bootloaders are the same, without having to take someones word for it. Am I getting through to anyone???

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App