Does 1.2.1 work on the new. 340 ota?

Discussion in 'Droid X Roms' started by ScottyDsntKnow, Dec 9, 2010.

  1. ScottyDsntKnow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just wondering. I am going to wait to upgrade if not. I hate everything about the stock rom.

    Also, is the new apex thread gone because of the new ota or something? I don't see it...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  2. droidxchat

    droidxchat Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid forums app has a tab for stickies, you ll have to go to that tab to see the apex thread and themes thread

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. ScottyDsntKnow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah I just got on a real computer and saw that. Doh...
     
  4. riahon

    riahon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    SHouldn't be too long of a wait. He tweeted earlier: @Bigxie Wooow, got work in 5 hours. OK, as long as this build doesn't blow up on me tomorrow at work, I'm pretty sure it's 95% done. about 6 hours ago via TweetDeck
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser
    Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys, remember that the .340 SBF is system only, that means it doesn't update your kernel or anything.

    So if you did the .340 SBF, you'd get moved up to .340, and then if you installed 1.2.1 again, you'd just be right back at .320 :)
     
  6. Steady Hawkin

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I'm already on the leak is there any reason to go to .340?
     
  7. ScottyDsntKnow

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    There will be when the new roms are released and are .340 only.
     
  8. Steady Hawkin

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do we have a way to upgrade from 320 to 340? I looked for an answer but have not had any luck
     
  9. jhanford

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What Fab and Scotty are saying is this:

    The difference between .320 and .340 are in the /system only. ApeX 1.2.1 takes the /system from .320 and makes changes to it to give us the wonderful system we have. If we flash .340 we lose ApeX because the /system is overwritten with all the new Moto stuff. If we THEN install ApeX 1.2.1, we again overwrite /system which removes all the Moto and updates and we're back to .320-based /system

    Fab is working on ApeX 1.3 which will be ApeX on top of .340.

    That's what we should be waiting for. :)
     
  10. Steady Hawkin

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the reply bro....so if I understand correctly even tho I'm on 320 I could go to the new apex when its out.....i just won't have some of the new bloatware like madden but it will update to 340?
     
  11. jhanford

    jhanford Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly! We'll have .340 because Fab will have built ApeX from the .340 stock /system folder.

    We already have the kernel and bootloader from the OTA because that's what came with the .320 leak.

    (Of course, this is assuming that nothing changed with those two items between versions, but that seems to be the case)
     
  12. Steady Hawkin

    Steady Hawkin Fueling The Revolution
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Seattle
    Ratings:
    +0
    Perfect.....thank you!