Do You Need a Data Plan?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by wuzuprad, Oct 26, 2009.

  1. timp

    timp Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Palm Centro on Verizon without a data plan...had it for years now (and it is considered a smartphone by verizon). I did use to have a blackberry without a data plan, but at one point they called and said I would need to switch phones or get a data plan, because of a new licensing agreement with blackberry which required them to have a plan. That's the reason I switched to the palm. I don't see why you wouldn't be able to use an android phone without data.
     
  2. purl4peace

    purl4peace New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try going through newegg.com. They are currently selling the Motorola Droid for something like 29 bucks for upgrades or if you add a new family line. They just want you to sign up for the extra minutes and don't require you purchase the data plan (though it is offered as an "add-on" if you want.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. jsh1120

    jsh1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can certainly "use an android phone without data." However, you cannot have an android phone on the Verizon network without a data plan.
     
  4. gocflamedragon

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    KY, Usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once and for all the answer is NO!. do not listen to anything anyone else is saying it does not matter where u buy the droid from the moment u activate it on verizon the data plan WILL be added to your phone period.
    I don't mean to offend anyone but i don't want the op getting false information.
     
  5. bicycleray

    bicycleray Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Read what this guy is saying, I actually work for AT&T (but with verizon) and the data plans are the same for them when it comes to smart phones. In fact they know what phone you use regardless if you swap sim card to another device if it is a smart phone made in the last couple years. And in your contact states the data requirement for the phone.

    And if you got a contact before the change in november for either AT&T or Verizon, the contact states the provider can change the contact if it benefits the company and customer. (More people not on the data network is a benefit for everyone else, no lag from overload)

    *OH, and it's impossible to get a smart phone as a pre paid phone.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  6. gocflamedragon

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    KY, Usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally someone else who knows how it works :p, When you activate your phone verizon will know automatically what device you are using and if its a smartphone data is going to be added to the bill.
     
  7. bicycleray

    bicycleray Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plus to utilize navigation such as Google maps you need to have data on the phone anyways, the maps are not pre loaded on the phone. They load when you open the program via data.

    *Windows mobile has a Tom Tom app and comes with maps (file size is around 100 mb) but the application is like $60. But again Windows mobile is a Smart Phone
     
  8. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Well this is a quote from the OP.

    "All I want is a phone that is like an ipod touch with ability to get apps (android apps are fine), has built in GPS that is free (just like you would get if you buy a gps unit at the store) can get on a WiFi network to surf the internet, and be able to play games, store music and video/movies for playing with a good and intuitive interface."

    Obviously if he wants it like a Ipod touch, and knows won't be able to make phone calls, so......


    The answer to this question is yes, you can use the Droid like a ipod touch. Yes it can still go on the market place, use GPs, and get on your Wifi network, use the internet, play games, store music, without activating it on verizon's network. How is this not answering the OP's question?
     
    #104 HolyGrail, May 22, 2010
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  9. bicycleray

    bicycleray Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, so if you want to spend money on a device that is suppose to be a phone and not activate it, I guess that would be an option.

    1) to use gps you have to still be then connected to wifi, who has wifi in their car/bike/backpack? The data plan is what gives you the maps. So even if you get a itouch without the gps it's the same thing.

    2) if you want videos and apps/games why get the a smartphone. The itouch or zune HD would be far less expensive and give you better battery life for music and video. The itouch also gives you access to nearly half the apps on the itunes market.

    So get a phone with a data plan if you want all the features. Otherwise the perfect device for this guy has not be created yet.
     
  10. HolyGrail

    HolyGrail Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I agree, but I don't answer a question with more questions. Only the OP knows why he/she wants it to work like a ipod touch. I just answer the question, and leave the why questions to myself.

    All an Ipod is, is a Iphone without the phone. So why can't the OP have Droid be a Droid Pod without the phone if he wants :happy:? Not my place to tell someone what to do with their device.
     
    #106 HolyGrail, May 23, 2010
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  11. STiMULi

    STiMULi New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ONE DOLLAR A DAY.

    That is all it is for the unlimited plan and for this phone if you are in the right area that ONE DOLLAR makes it rock!

    Sure, I use WiFi while in the house or around trusted HotSpots but as far as the security and mobility is concerned (not to mention the usability of the GPS in 100's of applications), why, honestly, why, would anyone spend the bucks on this magnificent piece of electronics and not get the data plan for the concern of ONE DOLLAR A DAY?

    (Save the I can't afford the $30 flaming because you can if you can afford the phone)

    If you want a cool toy that can make (VOIP) phone calls from and you only need access to WiFi networks get yourself a Touch.

    I have a Touch and as soon as there is the controlability of the Android based handsets are commonplace for automobile headunits and some iTunes like store that lets me import my podcasts and audiobooks with the same ease I will ditch the Touch and never look back.
     
  12. gocflamedragon

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    KY, Usa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re read the ops post, he is asking to use it as a phone not just an ipod touch. The op wants to be able to use it to make calls and be able to act like a ipod and only use the data when at a wifi hotspot to avoid paying the data plan and that's just not happening.
     
Search tags for this page
can you have droid without data plan
,

can you use a droid without a data plan

,
can you use lg ally without data plan
,
do droids require a data plan
,
do you have to have a data plan with a droid verizon
,
do you have to have a data plan with the droid
,
do you need a data plan for a droid phone
,
does the droid incredible need a data plan
,
does the droid require a data plan
,
does the droid x require a data plan