Do I need "Tether" or can I tether my Droid already?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by PaulQ, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. PaulQ

    PaulQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my Blackberry, you could tether your phone to your computer using a bunch of techie settings or buy the program "Tether" and it would do it easily.

    Is is the same case for my new Droid? (Android v2.2)

    Thanks!
     
  2. mcatdtDroid

    mcatdtDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need an app called, either Easytether, PDANet, or Tether

    I'm not sure about Tether. Easytether and PDANet have free trials but you can't access https sites on PDANet ever, and Easytether has a 30 day trial then locks https sites.

    I used the 9.99 easytether


    Now, I downloaded z4root, and rooted my phone with the press of ONE button.
    downloaded wireless tether off the market for free

    now I tether wirelessly, free of charge and there are no https restrictions.
     
  3. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and, of course, you can pay Verizon as an option.
     
  4. dktrue

    dktrue New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    PDAnet

    I have been using PDAnet and then paid their one-time fee of (for now, anyway) $15.95 and it works wonderfully!

    it will let you access all sites if you pay the fee, after the 2 week trial.
    We just spent a week in FL at a campsite with no internet-but a great phone signal, and were surfing, uploading to Facebook, etc. all week long.

    I have a Droid2
     
  5. conecraft

    conecraft New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So if I'm understanding correctly.. I can tether my Verizon Droid X using Easytether or PDANet,,, and use my DX as a hotspot without being charged the Verizon WIFi hotspot fees... I assume it just shows up as "data" to Verizon... but not as the billable WiFi hotspot that Verizon sticks me with if I use the app loaded on my phone OEM. RIGHT?!
     
  6. dktrue

    dktrue New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, so far-that's what I have done; I used it for a week while we were camping in FL and it worked very well with my Droid2.
    You install the software on laptop and phone, and enable tethering on the phone--very easy to set up and use for me.
     
  7. UrbanBounca

    UrbanBounca Rescue Squad Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,449
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +132
    Wait! No! PDANet and EasyTether are wired data options. In order to use wireless tethering, or making your DX a wireless hotspot, it has to be rooted.
     
  8. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +212

    ...which raises a question in my mind. I *have* a rooted Droid X, and are you saying I don't need any type of app installed to make it a wireless hotspot?

    -Mike
     
  9. Droids

    Droids Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have a rooted Droid, just grab the free WirelessTether app from the market. You do need an app, and this one works just fine.
     
  10. mewshi

    mewshi Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No, afaik, you still need an app to make a wifi hotspot. The functionality is not built into the OS.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11,142
    Likes Received:
    800
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +827
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Galaxy s4
    +1 for Easytether.

    The only downside is that you have to have a usb plugged in for it to work, but hey you charge your phone at the same time so not too bad of a downside. You just gotta have a usb cable on you when you decide to use it.

    You can also root and do wireless tether, but I don't know much about that so i'm not going to get into it, other than saying that I might possibly take this root in the future once the new root comes out for my Incredible.
     
  12. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +212
    What "new" root are you talking about? For the Incredible, I mean.

    -Mike
     
  13. mcatdtDroid

    mcatdtDroid Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    why buy bottled water when you can get it for free from the tap
     
Search tags for this page
can i make ky samsung galaxy centura into a wifi hotspot
,

do i need hotspot to tether

,

why do you need a wifi tether