Do I need developer's edition to wifi tether?

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by goffredo, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. Phoenix111
    Offline

    Phoenix111 New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So let me get this straight, the only tethering app that works on the maxx HD is the stock Verizon one? If you root, will the wifi tether app work? If not, that's dissapointing, and I guess means ill be going with the S3 over this phone since I tether as my main source of internet.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
  2. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    If you read through this thread, you will see that there is more than one way to Wi-Fi tether.

    Here is post on how to make it work if rooted...
    And there are also posts that confirm that FoxFi works (no root necessary with FoxFi).
  3. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,998
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +187
    The phone/Verizon redirects you to sign up for tethering.
  4. geoff5093
    Offline

    geoff5093 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    Ratings:
    +29
    FoxFi worked fine for me.
  5. djspy
    Offline

    djspy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N. California
    Ratings:
    +14
    Isn't the Verizon WiFi hotspot supposed to be free for tiered data users?
  6. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,998
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +187
    Nut>>>>yes<<<<shell.

    Yes in a nut shell.
  7. Sumanji
    Offline

    Sumanji New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hmm, I don't get it... if you buy the phone without a plan, and don't use it on Verizon, what would happen if you trie to tether?

    (Sorry, I'm a Verizon noob :p)

    Thanks,

    Su
  8. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,998
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +187
    Tethering requires a data/ service connection of some kind, whether it verizon, sprint, at&t or whomever. A phone just won't work (except for 911 and 611) without service. Wifi also works.
  9. geoff5093
    Offline

    geoff5093 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    Ratings:
    +29
    Nothing. You can't make calls, or have access to data without having your phone on a provider. If you just buy a phone, no contract, no plan, nothing, you won't be able to use the phone for anything other than 911.
  10. Sumanji
    Offline

    Sumanji New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah I get that guys :p

    I meant if I don't have a plan with Verizon.

    I.e. If I am using a UK SIM in the phone (with its own data plan, obviously!).
  11. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Yes, that works. See this thread: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-razr-maxx/212942-international-travel-razr-maxx.html

    You can also use your phone on WiFi and there are actually apps that allow you to make phone calls and text on WiFi. There is actually quite a bit you can do with your phone without a plan with a WiFi connection.
  12. geoff5093
    Offline

    geoff5093 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Goffstown, NH
    Ratings:
    +29
    I thought the SIM was only for LTE? Also, doesn't the phone have to be unlocked to use a different carriers SIM?
  13. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Although Verizon will tell you it is not unlocked, it is and there are several people who have successfully used their Razr's with a foreign SIM.
  14. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,998
    Likes Received:
    184
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +187
    Alas; the all knowing night shift clocked in.

    Hi Tis.
  15. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +353
    Hi Lloyd! I think you're the round the clock shift, lol!
Search tags for this page
droid maxx developer edition hot spot
,
droid x developer edition free tether
,
free motorola droid razr maxx hd free sim unlock
,

how can i get free tether on a developers edition moto x

,
moto x developer edition
,
moto x developer edition foxfi
,
no root tether droid hd
,

ps3 connection to foxfi

,
root and unlocked bootloader droid maxx no hotspot
,
tether verizon s4 developer edition